We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early days??”

Speights Ale House Blenheim
Ranked #15 of 117 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days from 9am til late, serving up true southern hospitality in modern and comfortable surroundings!
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Early days??”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very nice surroundings and great staff. Good selection of drinks. Reasonable prices, but the food was not. Not sure how long it has been open, but looks and feels brand new, so maybe a teething time for them. willing to give it a second chance because of the great staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    135
    35
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“welldone”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

faboulas 'pub blenheim need this for long time location is very handy good parking bsck of pub excelent interior great range of beers and wine delicious food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gotfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very average meal”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was excited about trying the Ale House as others are really good. I ordered a shrimp cocktail for my entrée and the Caesar salad for my main as I wasn't feeling overly hungry. The shrimp cocktail came out looking sad with about 12 shrimps on a massive bed of shredded lettuce, the shrimps were cooked well but the dressing tasted like semi-flavoured water, I didn't bother making my way through the large amount of unflavoured lettuce. Unfortunately the Caesar salad was just as bad. I've had amazing Caesar salads at other restaurants so this was really disappointing. It lacked flavour and everything was strangely overpowered by the iceberg lettuce. It had what tasted like the same watered-down dressing as the shrimp cocktail over the top. I came away feeling like I'd spent a lot of money on unflavoured lettuce.
My husband's entrée and main were both good - he ordered the seafood chowder and the drunken steak.
The atmosphere was good and the waitresses were friendly so I'd like to go back at some point but will certainly be changing my order!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwidutchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blenheim
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“congratulations Speights Ale House!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well done to the Owners - John and Haley - on the recent completion of the Speights Ale House in Blenheim. It is a fabulous building inside and out - with many little areas to sit and chat to friends - and enjoy THE BEST coffee and beers/wine. We recently popped in for a quick lunch - and had the most delicious chowder! Highly recommend it. We received excellent service and the staff looked great in their uniforms. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House Blenheim also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Blenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing