We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Marlborough
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel d'Urville(Blenheim)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bings Motel(Blenheim)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
313
252
107
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
252
107
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menuthe penthouselovely hotelfirst floorrestaurant staffreception staffone bedroom suitethe ground floorcentral locationlovely roomeasy parkingguest laundryfree laundrycomfortable bedlarge roomtown centrestayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 704 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Great hotel with good service and good value. In the process of modernising everything but our room was huge and very comfortable.

Staff were unobtrusive but friendly and helpful. Lots of wineries and a few hungovers are a must in this sleepy town.

There are lots of hotels, new flash ones being built but Chateau Marlborough was very good - didnt appear to need to be mordernised at all!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KellsfromAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Stayed two nights at the Chateau Marlborough and were not disapointed. Very nice large rooms which were clean and tidy. Even though we were in the front on the ground floor there was very little road noise. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was opposite a lovely park. There is no restaurant - breakfast is booked in advance and then brought up to your room at an agreed time - this worked well except on the second morning the wheel fell off the trolley and our trays had orange juice everywhere. There is a small outside pool which we did not try. Restaurants in Blenheim on a Monday evening are a problem - most are closed - check and book in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crispin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We stayed at various hotels throughout the South Island of New Zealand but felt that this was the best value in terms of the room and service provided. Its location is very central and the facilities provided in the room were exceptional. The staff were very friendly and we received a complimentary drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South West England
429
Reviewed January 10, 2006

The staff were very friendly and eager to help or provide information. The room itself, although very dated, was clean.
The interesting architectural design of the building leads to some quirky interior layouts. Because of the shape of the room there was only space for one bedside table next to the "queen" size bed (actually only 4ft 6in wide). The bath was also noticeably smaller than standard and was only really suitable as a shower tray. If there had been space then a small dining table & chairs would have been useful. I also had to climb up into the large window recess/ledge in order to close the curtains!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2007

Thank you for your comments. All the rooms at the Chateau have been extensively refurbished and we are now rated 5 star. The window that you had to climb into was a bay window with curtains hard to reach. We now have rectified this so you can draw them without having to reach into the bay window area. All beds are super king now. The staff are still very helpful and friendly and dedicated to providing a very high level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2005

Our original plan was to spend a couple of nights in Nelson, but after looking around the city for an hour we decided we didn't like it and so we headed to Blenheim. It was the best decision we could have made.
We discovered the Chateau Marlborough, and stayed for only $95 a night. The hotel is gorgeous, and full of character and charm.
Our room was huge. It had a queen size bed, a desk and chair, two lounge chairs and a coffee table, heaps of storage space, a little kitchenette, and a large bathroom with a bath! You could almost move in and live there! The building was beautiful too. And everything was extremely clean.
The staff were super friendly and helpful, and booked for us a wine tour (a must-do exercise).
And to top it all off, the hotel was in a perfect location - a couple of blocks from the centre of town.
Without a doubt, the best hotel we stayed at during our three weeks in New Zealand.

10  Thank BunnyPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews