We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Spa Suite great value for money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Great hotel with good service and good value. In the process of modernising everything but our room was huge and very comfortable.

Staff were unobtrusive but friendly and helpful. Lots of wineries and a few hungovers are a must in this sleepy town.

There are lots of hotels, new flash ones being built but Chateau Marlborough was very good - didnt appear to need to be mordernised at all!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KellsfromAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 642 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2006

Stayed two nights at the Chateau Marlborough and were not disapointed. Very nice large rooms which were clean and tidy. Even though we were in the front on the ground floor there was very little road noise. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel was opposite a lovely park. There is no restaurant - breakfast is booked in advance and then brought up to your room at an agreed time - this worked well except on the second morning the wheel fell off the trolley and our trays had orange juice everywhere. There is a small outside pool which we did not try. Restaurants in Blenheim on a Monday evening are a problem - most are closed - check and book in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crispin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

We stayed at various hotels throughout the South Island of New Zealand but felt that this was the best value in terms of the room and service provided. Its location is very central and the facilities provided in the room were exceptional. The staff were very friendly and we received a complimentary drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South West England
429
Reviewed January 10, 2006

The staff were very friendly and eager to help or provide information. The room itself, although very dated, was clean.
The interesting architectural design of the building leads to some quirky interior layouts. Because of the shape of the room there was only space for one bedside table next to the "queen" size bed (actually only 4ft 6in wide). The bath was also noticeably smaller than standard and was only really suitable as a shower tray. If there had been space then a small dining table & chairs would have been useful. I also had to climb up into the large window recess/ledge in order to close the curtains!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2007

Thank you for your comments. All the rooms at the Chateau have been extensively refurbished and we are now rated 5 star. The window that you had to climb into was a bay window with curtains hard to reach. We now have rectified this so you can draw them without having to reach into the bay window area. All beds are super king now. The staff are still very helpful and friendly and dedicated to providing a very high level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2005

Our original plan was to spend a couple of nights in Nelson, but after looking around the city for an hour we decided we didn't like it and so we headed to Blenheim. It was the best decision we could have made.
We discovered the Chateau Marlborough, and stayed for only $95 a night. The hotel is gorgeous, and full of character and charm.
Our room was huge. It had a queen size bed, a desk and chair, two lounge chairs and a coffee table, heaps of storage space, a little kitchenette, and a large bathroom with a bath! You could almost move in and live there! The building was beautiful too. And everything was extremely clean.
The staff were super friendly and helpful, and booked for us a wine tour (a must-do exercise).
And to top it all off, the hotel was in a perfect location - a couple of blocks from the centre of town.
Without a doubt, the best hotel we stayed at during our three weeks in New Zealand.

10  Thank BunnyPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Elenasidorova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $102 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing