We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were only in Blenheim for one night so we wanted the best and we got it! We arrived too early to check in (we had to be there to meet our Marlborough tour company) and they were happy to try and get our room ready early but we declined and waited in the lobby which is equipped with nice lounges, bathrooms, and computers for guests to use as well as information on the area. The front desk staff are lovely and happy to help you with anything you need!
The rooms are very large and ours even had a mini kitchen which would be great for long stays. The mini bar was stocked with local juice, beer, wines, and snacks which was a wonderful touch. It gets quite cold at night in August so the heaters in the bathroom and main area are prime and to top it off the beds have heated blankets that can be adjusted to your preference on each side. A pillow menu and massive TV with many channels if you are stuck in at night as well!

We did not dine in the restaurant but did walk out on the way past and see there were many people enjoying a nice dinner. Breakfast in the room on the morning we checked out was delicious though and very large!
Right at the lovely park in town center and a walk to the shops. Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmorg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback , So pleased you enjoyed your stay with and you found everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit the region.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    219
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
61
361
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a great way to start a holiday. The staff at reception were very friendly, extremely helpful with any request. Dinner in the restuarant was to talk about in the best way. Breakfast was a bit slow but nice all the same. Loved the kiwi on the bed when we arrived and the fact that we were asked to take him home. And that we did. Would come and stay again and would recommend to any of my friends with out hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
HI Geraldine

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at the Chateau Marlborough Hotel. I will pass on your comments to our team . The Chateau Kiwi is a real treat for our guests . We look forward to seeing you here again at the Chateau.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I asked my client to book me the nicest hotel in the area; they didn't let me down. I'm not a hotel snob, but it doesn't take long to see which properties are a franchise, or run on a formula, and which properties are run by people who care.

From my welcome at reception, to the service at the bar, the staff all engaged with me in a personal way that is the hallmark of good customer service. If you are planning to stay in the area, I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onemoremoondance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
What wonderful feedback to read on trip advisor. As the General Manager of the Chateau Marlborough the things you wrote are very important for me to measure guest satisfaction. The team here work hard to achieve excellence in customer service and the overall guest experience. Certainly on this occasion we have met this. We look forward to seeing you back at the Chateau on your next visit to Marlborough.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A great place to stay in Blenheim. We have stayed here twice and been very impressed both times. Very central - easy walk to town and the river. The rooms are lovely and the bed is so comfortable - they even have a pillow menu. The staff are super friendly and always helpful. The food and service in the restaurant is right up there. And on top of all that, we had a fabulous weekend deal. Would certainly make this my first place to stay in Blenheim if wanting a hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Maryanne. Was great to read your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed another stay at the Chateau Marlborough. I will be sure to tell the team . We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Blenheim.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were recently grounded in Blenheim after cancelled flights. We were recommended the Chateau and were not disappointed. The young man on duty Sunday 14th July was amazing and accommodated our needs at short notice even apologising for the room not being warmed up for our arrival. The room was awesome, comfortable, cosy and catered to our needs. The hotel staff we came across were more than willing to help us and even allowed us to extend our stay until 4pm until we needed to catch our rebooked flight with no extra cost. This was much appreciated as we had nowhere to go and it was cold outside.
Chateau Marlborough made an unpleasant situation very bearable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Chateau Marlborough you and your staff rock.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Thank you so much for your feedback. It was wonderful to read that you found the staff here at the Chateau Marlborough went out of their way to make a difficult situation better for you. We work very hard to maintain very high, helpful , friendly and professional service. I will be sure to tell the team . Look forward to seeing you again at the Chateau Marlborough.
Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Towels large and fluffy white and clean what a place one of the best the rooms new and modern the food was awesome we did have a great weekend would highly recommend to any one even when you arrive you will be impressed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigelc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Nigel. Thank you for your feedback. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything met your expectations. The Chateau Marlborough team strive to achieve this and it is wonderful when guests take the time to tell us when we do. I will be sure to pass it onto the team . Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Blenheim.
Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are regular visitors to Blenheim and tend to stay at different places as we haven't found anything up to a reasonable standard - until now!

Chateau Marlborough was impressive from the time you drive into the carpark. It is well-located being a very short walk into the town centre, the buildings are new, modern and very-well maintained, the staff are friendly and obliging, the rooms are large with everything you can wish for including a large bed and great shower.

The evening meal in the restaurant was superb and our group tried several dishes with no-one leaving anything. The breakfast in the morning was also to a very high standard - normally we try to avoid the 'usual' hotel breakfast but this is one you would look forward to.

We will most certainly be back as this is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and we have traveled all over the world. My advice - if in Blenheim don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Grant, thank you so much for the wonderful feedback posted after your stay at the Chateau Marlborough. We strive to meet or exceed all guests expectations and certainly on this occassion we achieved this. Look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Blenheim.
Kind Regards
Lynley Mckinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
203 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing