We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New accommodation in heart of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Located on the main road in the city, Chateau Marlborough is a modern facility with clean and spacious rooms. The design is modern and functional. The only down side is that the shower curtain is hardly able to contain the splashing, and leaves a wet mess.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. So pleased that the rooms met your expectations. Sorry to hear the shower curtain wasnt adequate. I am working with housekeeping on this.
Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 645 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Loved this place, great big clean rooms and friendly staff. Free wifi and also a restaurant and room service available. On site parking and a guest laundry also. A short walk to the centre of town. Cleaning staff were sensational.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Minda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It was wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all things met your expectations.

Kind Regards Lynley Mckinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for two nights in an Executive Suite, room six, and it was brilliant. Stunningly appointed room, spotlessly clean and very luxurious. Absolutely massive suite! Breakfast both mornings was excellent and staff were very good. Incredibly impressed and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyJWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback; we do appreciate receiving guest comments and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently my husband and I, from California, joined friends from Sydney, Australia for a New Zealand adventure. After reading various reviews for this hotel, including the negatives, it was decided to take a chance and book it for two nights. We were all pleasantly surprised. Despite the somewhat unenthusiastic welcome from the front desk (perhaps he was tired after a long day), we were shown to our rooms which were very well appointed, exactly as depicted and very clean. The only slight problem was the somewhat dated bathroom, although I was assured by the owner whom I met at breakfast one morning, that renovations are underway, probably to be completed in the off season. Our meals were very good, especially the breakfast omelette (so good we repeated the order on the second morning) The music choice was a bit raucous and out of keeping with the ambience I believe they are trying to create here. The staff were efficient, fun, and helpful with advice on things to see and do. Should we return to Blenheim in the future we will definitely stay at the Chateau Marlborough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tornado1Saratoga_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your welcome didn't meet our usual standards of friendliness and warmth, however, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the other staff efficient and fun! I confirm the bathrooms are in the process of being updated in the Deluxe Studios and we look forward to being able to offer you one of these on your next stay.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only stayed one night and it was lovely. The room was spotless and modern with a new bathroom. The dining area also very modern with a welcoming feel...... 5-10min walk into town so very central. The staff were friendly and warm would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaGray80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location was convenient and the cleanliness and service was tops as was the pricing for the accommodation and restaurant services provided.
The meal was unimaginative and is certainly not any more stylish than "meat and veg". This establishment provides fair if slightly old fashioned services in a newish building with cheerful and pleasant staff but at a premium price.

Room Tip: Seek out smaller room not beside laundry store (noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. I am pleased you found the service to be good and friendly, but am disappointed that you did not find your meal met your expectations. We appreciate receiving guest comments as this gives us the opportunity to improve our service, and I do hope we are able to host you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we were hosted by cloudy bay vineyards on a recent GM's conference. we all stayed at chateau marlborough and were very happy with the rooms and service. LOVED the huge showers with great pressure ! comfy beds and friendly staff. we all really ejoyed it thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, we do appreciate receiving guest comments and are thrilled to know that you really enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $131 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town center. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing