We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

we were hosted by cloudy bay vineyards on a recent GM's conference. we all stayed at chateau marlborough and were very happy with the rooms and service. LOVED the huge showers with great pressure ! comfy beds and friendly staff. we all really ejoyed it thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, we do appreciate receiving guest comments and are thrilled to know that you really enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    210
    91
    18
    12
See reviews for
58
354
39
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This review is as accurate as I can recall and there is nothing made up and is all first hand experiences my husband and I underwent while staying at this hotel. For this reason I am not editing my review. Side note: The manager of the hotel keeps rebutting this review and that in turn tells me that they are not able to take critiscisms. I will keep submitting my review until it is allowed to stay because there is absolutely nothing wrong with it and my opinion is just as valid as the next.

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel in Early March. We were checked in by a lovely lady called Fay who went out of her way to help us with our bags and where to go for dinner. The room we stayed in was lovely with a real relaxation about it and the complimentary truffles were a real treat especially because they were made by the hotels chef, good job to him. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the spa was divine after a hard day of wine tasting. We went out for dinner the first night but opted to eat in the second. The food was just to die for and the restaurant design was beautiful with the black and white colour theme with a hint of red. My complaint would be with the restaurant staff. We had a girl called Emsa (what I heard her colleague calling her) and her male colleague serving us. Although their service when they were out in the restaurant was fine, what was being said in the kitchen was not. First off they were very loud and could be heard across the restaurant over the music and other guest talking, and I don't know if it was the waitress or one of the kitchen staff but baby talk in a five star restaurant is hardly professional. Then there was talk of a vulgar nature and I even heard at one point her and the male colleague making plans to go and smoke drugs after work. Shock was what my husband and I were feeling, so shocked in fact it's only just taken me till now to say anything about it. It was a real let down to an otherwise flawless stay in a gorgeous hotel and I just hope a no drug policy is enforced because it terrifies me that you employ staff that take illegal substances and are so open about it. We would definitely stay again but will be steering clear of the restaurant on future stays

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianeandHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I acknowledge receipt of your review. Whilst I accept and thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at Chateau Marlborough some of your comments clearly breach Trip Advisor's review guidelines, hence the repeated request to have the review edited.
I would be happy to discuss this with you further and you are welcome to contact me directly should you wish to do so.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, NZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Chateau Marlborough three times over the last few years. It is ideal for our needs - very comfortable bed, good sized room, lovely toiletries, free wifi, good kitchen facilities. We have also stayed in a suite which was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, we always appreciate receiving guest feedback and it is great to know you enjoy staying with us as the Chateau meets all your needs. we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight to visit the wineries and catch the ferry back to Wellington. It is a motel, my room had been renovated and was nice with a small kitchen with everything you could need in it and a nice bathroom. My friend's room was unrenovated and she said was pretty basic. We asked for rooms next to each other when booking and when checking in was told we had interconnecting doors. Great we thought, except when we got into the rooms there was furniture covering the door in my friends room! It is on a main road but very quiet. Weird musak coming through the ceiling but could be turned off (or down). Free wi-fi but only on one thing at a time (either ipad or phone but not both) and then very weak. Staff were awesome, helpful and very very welcoming, it is the staff that make this hotel! I would stay again if in Blenheim.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackjenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. As you are aware, we are in the process of upgrading bathrooms in our Deluxe Studio Suites. Apologies for the fact that the interconnecting door was not opened for you on arrival. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

reasonable sized room at back of complex but a bit dark and tired looking. It was clean, th bed was comfortable and amenities fine. The piped 'musak' into every room could be turned down but even at 'minimum' volume was still audible and was very irritating. Wi fi access temperamental but staff helpful - even if unable to sort.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the ground floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading Deluxe Studio Suites so I do hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Your comments are appreciated as this does help us improve our service to all out guests.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Of the ten hotels we stayed in during our two week trip to New Zealand (both north and south islands), this was the best. The room was clean and well designed, the beds were good, breakfast was excellent --- just a great place to spend an evening and recover from traveling. And, unlike most New Zealand hotels, Chateau Marlborough provided free wi-fi to its guests, so it was possible to catch up on email, review the news and plug back into the wider world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatmarl, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate our guest comments and to hear that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm not sure how this place got a 5-star rating. It is simply a slightly fading 3.5 star business hotel/large motor inn, with a few of the more noticeable but actually minor accoutrements of "luxury" sprinkled around to gloss over the fact it's actually quite dated, and some very cheesy add-on architecture to make it a "Chateau".

Our room wasn't ready at 11am - surprising, but perhaps understandable on a long weekend. The staff member was genuinely polite and helpful in giving us directions to a local attraction. It's a shame he was wrong and we were lucky enough to spot signs on the side of the road to direct us. Why he didn't know I'm not sure - it's probably the largest tourist attraction in what is a fairly small town - definitely the only non-vineyard attraction.

The room also wasn't as advertised. "One-bedroom" in the name implies a suite, not studio. What we got was something that looked like a standard hotel room, perhaps slightly larger, with a very bleak and dated kitchenette. The furnishings, bedding and bathroom were all very dated. This was their third of five room categories, so who knows what the lower categories are like. This particular room was facing the road on the ground floor, so we asked to be moved. The staff were helpful, and another ground floor room facing the courtyard and pool was found. This room had equally dated decor, and seemed to be of a lesser category (smaller, and an even more bleak and tiny kitchenette), though we were assured it was the same category. But, it wasn't facing the road, so we took it. Still not much privacy - the way the curtains were arranged meant you could have privacy or daylight, but not both. No thin or translucent curtains, only thick heavy ones that let everyone see in when open much more than a crack, and darken the room almost completely when closed.

Anyway, reading this probably makes me sounds like a moaner, or the hotel the worst place in the world. Neither is true, and would be an exaggeration. But I couldn't recommend someone to stay here. They either need to make their prices more realistic, or renovate their rooms to be in keeping with their pretensions of boutique/luxury. The staff are friendly enough, and helpful in a hopeless, slightly bumbling way.

The hotel also briefly lost our bags. We left them in the care of the hotel when we were advised we were too early for check in. When we returned to take our room late in the afternoon, the hotel couldn't find our bags. They hadn't been placed in the room, and weren't in the first two places the staff looked. The staff assured us they were definitely on-site (no kidding pal, we know that, we're the ones that left them here). They were actually found fairly quickly, but it was hardly reassuring - it's not a big busy hotel.

Room Tip: The one bedroom luxury suites (we saw rooms 6 and 12) were poor value. Perhaps the cheaper or more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60JamesG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate this as it assists us in improving our guests experience here at the Chateau Marlborough. It is disappointing to hear that your expectations were not met on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#21 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing