We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid business venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Solid business venue”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good hotel with a business focus. Free high speed internet. Reasonably priced good sized breakfasts in the restaurant downstairs. Probably on the expensive side for what you get.

Good hotel rooms with lounge, but no balcony.

Room Tip: This is a business hotel. Not really for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. We do appreciate receiving guest feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    226
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
63
367
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just before Christmas my husband & I spent 4 nights at what we would consider to be the best accommodation in Blenheim. These are some of reasons;
- Central location, shops & restaurants all in walking distance.
- Attractive, modern looking hotel inside and out.
- Lovely sun trap of a pool area to wind down with a wee drink.
- Staff delivered the friendly & knowledgable customer service that NZ is so known for - thank you for the big genuine kiwi smiles!
- Room was spacious, clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in (and I have stayed in many hotels).
- The kiwi touches in the room make me smile. Like the kitchenette with small bottles of fresh milk for tea/coffee replaced daily. Quality shampoo and CONDiTIONER. Powerful hairdryer. Free WiFi.
We will definitely stay again the next time we head to Blenheim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of Chateau Marlborough after your recent stay. It is great to know that you had an enmjoyable experience and that everything met your expectations. We do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent the Xmas week in Blenheim visiting my daughter and yet again I chose to stay at what I consider to be the best accommodation in Blenheim. The central location is just so handy, with everything being in walking distance including my daughters place.
The staff displayed their usual friendly and helpful attitude. I had a suite overlooking the pool which looked very inviting however the weather and other activities meant I didn't get to try it out.
I was accommodated in a suite which was presented to it's usual high standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. It is great that you choose to stay with us and also to come back! We appreciate receiving guest comments and are pleased you found everything to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Lylney McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was booked by our travel agent.

A short review very clean quiet hotel with excellent staff at front desk and restaurant

You will not be disappointed by the location or the attention to detail by all staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Chteau Marlborough. It is great to know you enjoyed the expereince and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Similar experience to most other reviewers, excellent hotel, shame about the bathroom! I paid NZ $220 (110 GBP) for 1 night in a standard room which actually turned out to be a suite so was very pleased about that. Very dated bathroom (clean though!), good little kitchenette (fridge, 2 hotplates, microwave, crockery etc) living room with dining table, chairs, sofas, tv with basic channels, sky movies and a sky sport channel. Separate bedroom with large king size bed and wardrobe. Pillows were a bit hard. Room looked out over the lovely pool area. We didn't eat in the restaurant as expensive (NZ$29-39 for a main meal) and breakfast didn't start til 7am. You could get a breakfast box for $12.50 if you had an early start but I don't know what this consisted of. Friendly staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vettyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. All our bathrooms are in the process of being renovated at the moment and I am sure you will appreciate the changes if you have a chance to stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we do appreciate receiving it.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a lovely stay at Chateau Marlborough. The ladies at the front desk are delightful and very helpful - fantastic service! The hotel is centrally located and close to everything. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikedeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough. We appreciate receiving guest feedback and are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and found everything met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Chateau Marlborough is in a superb location, close to the heart of Blenheim but off the busiest main road. Everything in the town is in easy walking distance with a big supermarket barely 100 metres away. We only had a basic room but there were much more spacious and suites available if you were wanting more space. However, there was plenty in our room, with chairs and a table and small kitchenette area. The room was especially quiet with an efficient and quiet air conditioner, a must during the summer months. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to say hello or can we help. The rooms were modernised although the bathroom had been forgotten about, looking very tired and dated. The shower is over the bath with no non-slip mat in the room. I believe you can request one but shouldn't have too. I almost slipped once myself. Still that was the only negative we found. The pool area was adequate although a few more loungers would be helpful, with only 4 available.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a room close to the gym. There are 4 suites close by, two on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oamaruvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Chateau Marlborough, and it is pleasing to know that you enjoyed it. All the bathrooms are in the process of being renovated at the moment and I am sure you will appreciate the changes if you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
Kind regards
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
162 reviews
17.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing