We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Blenheim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau Marlborough
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in Blenheim”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel and as before I found it to be arguably Blenheims premiere in town accommodation. Having stayed at other central accommodation previously I won't go past it now.

The staff are excellent in their friendly nothing seems to be a problem attitude, they were all very approachable.

The location is great as you can walk to local eateries easily and you don't have to stagger back too far.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always great to know our guests enjoyed their stay with us, and we do appreciate receiving your feedback.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    219
    94
    18
    12
See reviews for
61
361
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed mid November in this hotel and just loved it. We certainly did not expect to find such a superior hotel in blenheim with such a warm welcome. We stayed in a suite room which was very large with fabulous decor and a super king comfortable bed; large plasma TV on the wall and a balcony. We loved the bonuses like the delicious bedside chocolate and complimentary after dinner port! We had the best sleep we have had in ages thanks to the quality of the bed and the dark curtains. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and were really impressed with the presentation and quality of the meals. Big thanks to Tania who provided us with really friendly and attentive service that night for dinner. We would definitely stay there again, better than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in the main cities in New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you! We are thrilled to receive your feedback and know you enjoyed the accommodation, the atmosphere and the service at the Chateau Marlborough. We appreciate receiving feedback and are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My family and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and had a lovely stay. We used this hotel as a base to travel the South Island and was not disappointed by the service that we received. We dinned in the hotel’s restaurant for breakfast and dinner and both times to quality of the food and service was brilliant. The hotel rooms were great and had everything that we needed for our stay and even had connecting rooms which we requested. The décor of the rooms was lovely and the rooms were very clean. My farther had stayed there before and that’s why we chose that hotel, after our visit I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone either on business or with a family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We very much appreciate receiving your feedback, thank you. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the Chateau Marlborough met your expectations.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a lovely three night stay at Chateau Marlborough. The rooms were clean and nice, though our view was uninteresting. The hotel was a few blocks from the main area in town and near lots of wineries. We had a really good lunch at the hotel here.

Overall, it was nothing exceptional, but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauBlenheim, General Manager at Chateau Marlborough, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know you found Chateau Marlborough an enjoyable place to stay.
Lynley McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The check in went well with a very pleasant lady on the desk.We were given 2 drink vouchers to use should we decide to dine in, as we were out at dinner time can not comment on meals.
Our room on the ground floor was spacious and very comfortable--except the TV, it could only be viewed from the bed it was positioned on the wall behind the lounge that faced the bed,to me a strange set up.When checking out I did comment on this and was told that clients liked to view TV from the bed.I wanted to watch the mid day news.
The bathroom --not a hook,rail or shelf in site to put clothes surely these would be an essential requirement for any bathroom.
The cost, $249NZ room only, maybe this is a standard price for Blenheim if visiting the area again I would look for somewhere where I can hang my clothes in the bathroom and watch TV without sitting in bed

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Everything was great about this hotel except for the fact that we had a street-side room and when the road-sweeper did its work at 6am on Sunday mornng, the truck may as well have been in the room with us. We understand that the hotel has recently had a big refurbishment - its a shame that they missed out the double-glazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanandAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Staying only one night on my trip around the south Island felt like a mistake as we should have stayed for a week. The staff were amazing and very friendly, upon checking in we discovered our room did not have seperate bedding and with 5 mins we had a new room and a beverage voucher for the bar! We decided to eat at the hotel that evening and we where treated to an amazing meal. I will be back next year and this time I am planning to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
203 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Marlborough

Property: Chateau Marlborough
Address: Corner High and Henry Streets, Blenheim 7240, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#9 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Marlborough 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlborough's premier 5-Star boutique hotel overlooking Seymour Square Gardens prides itself on offering guests 80 luxury studios and suite accommodation with enviable attention to detail and all just a short walk from Blenheim's town centre. Enjoy an environment of seclusion, comfort and intimacy with attentive yet unobtrusive service. Our staff continually strives to exceed guests expectations. Chateau Marlborough will cater to your every need with breakfast restaurant, full conference, house bar facilities and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Chateau Marlborough Hotel Blenheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing