We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely indian meal”

Mango Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #23 of 114 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lovely indian meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

An unpretentious indian restaurant with unfussy service. This place really hit the spot after a days wine tasting. Spicing was much better that most of the indian restaurants we tried in New Zealand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    78
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our table of 10 all thoroughly enjoyed their evening meals (when they eventually arrived). Service was not good because they appeared to be quite busy and only one person waiting tables and serving drinks. He later told us a staff member had called in sick. The meal was the best Indian meal I have experienced and if you aren't in a hurry - I would recommend a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Young50chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant has terrible service! Their staff is horrendously unprepared, but I think the worse thing is their lack of manners and consideration for the customer. We came here twice, the first time we had to wait over 40 minutes for our meal. When we kindly asked the waiter (after about 30 minutes) how long it would be, his response was, "actually other people ordered before you are still waiting". Once we finally got to eat our meal, the empty plates were left on our table for 15 minutes, although both the waiter and waitress walked past us thrice! It was very disappointing.
That being said, there are some (almost) redeeming qualities. The restaurant has very comfortable seating and certain dishes can be good.
On the whole, I would not recommend Mango's Blenheim to any of my friends and will not be dining there in the future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jal-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Food...”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The food was very good. My husband had the chicken tikka, which he said was over cooked and dry. We both had vegetarian mains, the menu said dairy free for one of the mains, but it had paneer in it. Maybe it was dairy free on request. The other main was dairy free and vegan.

The service was fine, but the plates were slow to be cleared, I didn't get a replacement napkin after my entree, and no one came to ask how our food was for either the entree or the mains.

We would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a takeaway, ready in 15mins sharp! Reasonably priced and good portion sizes. Lovely tasty food. Would defo return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Mango Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing