We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of Omaka Classic cars

Omaka Classic cars
Ranked #13 of 69 things to do in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated next to the Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre on the outskirts of Blenheim and showcasing around 60 vehicles from the 1950's to the 1990's, the collection offers a special insight into both Marlborough and New Zealand motoring history from that charismatic period where space, grace, chrome bumpers, large grilles and individual design were allowed to run wild. The total collection is about 115 cars, with half on display at any one time.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is well worth going to. Very interesting and the people there are so friendly and willing to tell you the history of the place and not rush through it like most places like these seem to be like.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good collection of classic cars”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Located next to the Aviation Heritage Centre and well worth the $10 entry fee. Mainly local cars from the 60s and 70s and of great interest if you grew up in those years. The cars are all in excellent and original condition.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GEM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great collection of cars from around the world”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful examples of cars from racing jaguars through classic Holden's to regal Daimlers and Rollers.
The staff took lots of time to chat to us and answer questions and we whiled away several hours peering into the immaculate engine bays and walnut interiors. A must for visiting car enthusiasts.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryandAndrew_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great little collection”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Full of the cars we either drove in our youth or wished we could have driven, this includes a mini, ford Anglia, lotus escort,stag and a load of jags. There are also a number of Australian and local classics, but certainly something for everyone. At only $10 entry it is a steal!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful collection of concours-level classics”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We turned up on a Sunday morning and were the only visitors. The charge is only $10 a head, and for that you get to wander around a very large (about 70) and varied collection of classic cars - mostly American and British. The day we went, there was a very rare Mark 10 Jaguar on display, along with a number of other Jags... and when I told Richard the manager that I was a Renault fan, he went out and opened up a garage containing an old Dauphine, just for me! He's very friendly and knowledgeable, and likes to chat about the cars in the collection. There's a cafe just over the way at the Aviation centre if you're overcome with hunger and thirst, but we found the Omaka visit was a great treat. Photography welcome, touching cars not, as usual. Apparently the vehicles on display are varied now and then, as only half the collection can be shown at any one time. It's very much worth a visit!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omaka Classic cars also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Omaka Classic cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing