We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night out with Friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramado's

Gramado's
Ranked #2 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired by a small town in southern Brazil, part of the state Rio Grande do Sul, Gramado city is renowned for its fine wine, international cuisine and chocolate. Come in to a cosy, warm place for dinner or drinks. Enjoy the homestyle atmosphere, the little bar and separate dining areas. Please not we do not offer B.Y.O or Corkage.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Night out with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Group of 9 out for dinner.
A small establishment, very good attentive staff.
Our waiter played up well to the woman(all 50+) and was a happy chap.
Seafood Chowder and the Steak meals were good sized portions.
We tried almost everything on the menu and the food was of good quality.
The seafood must have been in short supply as it was a bit hard to find any in amongst the sauce.
Vegetable and salad serving sizes were a joke - tiny little dishes - what a waste of time.
For a small establishment it was a pity they jammed so many in. Every time one of our group or the other sitting next to us needed to get up, so did everyone else.
The MTV music adds nothing as with everyone talking you can't hear the person next to you - so it is not the place to go for an interment night out.
Overall it is above the Blenheim average for night time dinning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DellaeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    74
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Dined for a family birthday group of about 12 as this was a fairly new place at the time and they had a small kitchen and where fairly busy we where told our meals would take some time. We where offered some Brazilian appetizers while we waited for our mains these where aboustley delicious. Our main came out i ordered the 300g steak it was cooked to my order and was aboustley delicious as well

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a Good Time @ Gramado's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have dined at Gramados twice now.
The first time was mid-December 2013 for my mother's birthday.
I let this slip to the owner, Saulo, who put on a excellent show! They came out with a very special birthday dessert for her, singing Happy Birthday in Portuguese. I must express how much this meant to us, it was a very special evening indeed - Thank You Gramado's!

The second time was more recently for Valentines Day with my husband. Again, Saulo and Emma were excellent hosts and were able to make us feel very comfortable at Gramado's.

I would me amiss if I did not mention the delicious mains meals they provide - plus the chilli tastings - all add to the experience and complexity of flavours. Oh and of course... their Oreo cheesecake is to die for.

The restaurant is in a small, intimate space which is best for romantic evenings.

Keep up the good work Gramado's and I look forward to dining there soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jal-marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Came here after recommendation by our hotel, such a great experience. Staff very friendly and help to make the experience a unique one. Food was very tasty, cheese bread balls are to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Marlandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is what eating at a restaurant should be like!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a great place to have a meal!

We didn't think that a Brazilian Restaurant would be rated the highest place to eat in a Wine Country in New Zealand but decided to give it ago.

We initially told we had to come back an 1 hr later as the restaurant was booked which was no problem as we just drove back to the hotel and came back.

The staff were excellent, the service was excellent and the food/wine was excellent.

This is what a restaurant should be like. The owner came out when the meals were at our table to explain the meals and have a chat. My wife had the pasta of the day and I had the Feijoada (Brazilian Beans) which was delicious. Our Cheesecake dessert was also to die for!

I even got to practice my Portuguese with the owner!

This is a place that you are happy to Tip for the Service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramado's also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Gramado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing