We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book at least one night at Antria; it’s a pleasure certainly not to be missed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antria Boutique Lodge
Ranked #3 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

If I were to be asked to list my most lucky moments in life, I’d probably start with the fact that I was able to get pregnant on the first try and then second would be that we had gorgeous weather on our wedding day (despite horizontal rain the night before, over fifty guests that had flown in internationally, and an outdoor ceremony site most unforgiving in bad weather). Also on the list, not too far down from the top, would be that we stumbled across Antria on an otherwise precisely planned itinerary to New Zealand and now consider it to be one of the best luxury and most enjoyable accommodations we have ever visited. Lesson learned of course is to not plan everything and let magical places like Antria find their way into your itinerary. Let’s just say that I’ve never provided feedback on a travel website or a hotel review prior to this and I still feel compelled to do so even 6 months after returning from our trip.

Back in March, we enjoyed a 10 day adventure by car around the South Island, starting in Queenstown and then driving south west to continue around the island’s perimeter. While we knew we wanted to spend our final full evening and day in the Marlborough area, we had not booked any accommodations since we knew we may need some flexibility along the way as the weather is known for being temperamental in its transition to fall. After an enjoyable night in Kaiteriteri, and feeling remorseful that our incredible trip was drawing to a close, we started the drive towards Nelson and I began my search for accommodations in Blenheim for the following night. Using our trusty Lonely Planet as a starting point, I foolishly thought I’d be able to secure a room at one of the accommodations most appealing in review and meeting our selection criteria. After calling 2-3 establishments, I soon learned that it was the weekend of the Grape Ride where cyclists from around the country were in town and also needed lodging in the area. As a result, most places where full. Luckily, this forced me to look at a higher price range of accommodations. The first few I called where far beyond what we wanted to spend (>$500/night). However, I then read about Antria and was immediately enchanted by the description of its architecture and amenities. I called the number listed and was fearful I’d receive the same answer about the rooms being entirely booked. However, I was then greeted on the phone by the loveliest woman named Kathryne who let me know she did have availability in one last room for the one night we needed. She was intelligent, witty, and so refreshing compared to the other contacts I had spoken with in my search. Her demeanor and further description of the accommodation only made us more excited for our arrival.

From the moment we were greeted at Antria to the moment we drove away, we felt embraced by luxury and the graciousness of our hosts, Kathryne and Phil. The Antria Boutique Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way possible, making a significant impression on us and our overall experience in New Zealand in the short <24 hours we were there. We can’t wait to get back…

The lodge is breathtaking, purpose built, and absolutely true to the photos and description you see of it on the website: http://www.antria.co.nz/. While this alone sets Antria apart, what truly distinguishes it from any other accommodation in our experience is the quality of care provided by Kathryne and Phil. They are present when you need them, yet offer you privacy in the lodge to fully appreciate its glorious offerings. Soon after our arrival, Kathryne deftly arranged the perfect afternoon wine tasting itinerary and dinner plans for us. We enjoyed all destinations she recommended. In between our excursions, we shared a lovely bottle of sauvignon blanc brought out by Phil to our comfortable table on the covered veranda where we had settled to write postcards. Beforehand, we had wandered the grounds, which felt like those of an Italian villa, and laughed heartily for a few rounds of jumping on the trampoline across from the tennis court and apple trees.

We were treated to lavender on our pillows, a delicious bottle of late harvest wine, and homemade fudge when we returned from dinner that evening. Each and every detail in between was equally perfect and helped to make our short visit especially sweet.
We were delighted by the sweet and savory homemade breakfast options, opting for one of each to fully sample the Antria experience. Again, we were not disappointed. We sought out time with Kathryne and Phil, intrigued by their creation and magnetism. We lingered over coffee, talking of the old book collection in the kitchen, the aerial photo of Antria on the wall, and tried to learn more about how Antria came to be. In such a short time, we felt surprisingly indebted to our hosts and were immensely sad to leave this fine destination. We promised to return and are confident we will uphold this.

Keep your plans flexible while visiting New Zealand, yet make sure you book at least one night at Antria; it’s a pleasure certainly not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

Antria is a very nice B @ B. There are only two rooms so you are treated very specially, The owners, Catherine and Phillip make your stay very special. With the early evening appetizers, to the late night glass of wine in front of the fireplace....it is a wonderful retreat. Antria is located right in the center of many of the wineries so your tour of the Marborough will be very easy. Additionally, the property is quite large with fruit trees, lambs, pigs, and chickens providing supplies for the kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Kathryne & Phil were were extremely hospitable and made us feel comfortable in their wonderful home. The house is full of great art work and Phil is a wizard in the kitchen.
Our room was very clean, comfortable, and well kept. The grounds surrounding the home were beautiful with fruit and olive trees. My only regret was not having more time to spend there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

If you want to feel special, this is the place to stay. I love the fact that there are only two rooms. And GORGEOUS rooms. Modern, well-maintained with luxurious amenities. Kathryne and Phil definitely rate with some of the best B&B hosts. One could easily see them as being your neighbors who happen to also be good friends.

And then there's the grounds. This place is so welcoming that we canceled our dinner plans on the last night, went to the local supermarket to pick up some dinner, prepared it in the kitchen, and ate it on the porch as we watched the sunset. Kathryne and Phil even came out to have some wine with us and light a bonfire in the "little toot".

If you are planning on visiting the Marlborough wine country, STAY HERE! I know we would do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Antria is a quiet oasis with all the amenities of a wonderful and welcoming bed and breakfast. This B&B has owners who have obviously traveled quite a bit and therefore offer the best of the best in attention to details and add lots of graciousness and good humor as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank modhoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Antria was a beautiful place - nice and quiet and easy to relax. The rooms were really nice and well equipped. Kathryn and Phil were really good hosts who made us feel very welcome and spoilt us with lovely wine and home made food! Would defintely recommend it to anyone. We intend to go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkullLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Phil & Kathyrn are superb hosts always there when you need them. Breakfast out on the verandah is a treat with home grown bottled fruit and a grand selection of cooked including the best egg "soufle" I can remember!
Situated on the boundary of town and country it's in easy biking distance of all the major wineries. Phil can drive you there so you can do the home run only.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ownerbydam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
4.0 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
24.6 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
5.4 mi away
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antria Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antria Boutique Lodge

Address: 276 Old Renwick Road | Marlborough, Blenheim 7272, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range: $289 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antria Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanting something different then look no further,from the moment you walk through the Gothic front doors you will know you are in for a memorable stay.High end comfort awaits but you will truly be able to relax.With 40 vineyards within 10 mins and some of the finest resturants in Marlborough, come and enjoy a Gold Medal Savignon Blanc and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antria Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antria Boutique Hotel Blenheim
Antria Boutique Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing