We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marlborough Lodge
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Our stay here was wonderful. The surrounding area is not as tourist-y as other places we stayed and the land is beautiful. The owners are very gracious hosts and upgraded our room since it was the off-season and we were the only ones there that night. Our room was lovely and had view of the gardens as well as a huge bathroom with a footed tub for 2. In the morning the owners pulled out all the stops they would have with a full house and made us fresh squeezed juices and made-to-order breakfasts.
This was one of the most expensive places we stayed on our honeymoon but it was a very welcome place to relax and enjoy NZ away from the city.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

it was our first day in new zealand, and we could not have picked a more picturesque place with a more gracious staff. the setting is beautiful, with the renovated convent smack dab in the middle of a gorgeous marlbourough vineyard (those nuns knew good real estate when they saw it!). i soaked away the long flight from the states in a huge bath overlooking the grounds. my partner and i were treated to a "snack" of grapes, apples and pears from the vineyard, delicious local cheeses and pickled quince (awesome!) from the hotel pantry. we played pool on the huge billiard table downstairs, drank scotch and wine to our heart's content, and then slipped between the most luscious sheets in the most comfortable bed in the room known as the "mother superior room." i think mother mary heard our prayers!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mewannabekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We loved Old St. Mary's Convent. Stay here for the experience, not necessarily the posh rooms. The house is beautiful, with delicate touches all around. Since this was a converted convent, rooms aren't dripping with luxury, but are large, comfortable, with private baths and all the amenities. The most amazing part are the grounds. The convent is set on 60 acres, and bikes are available for you to tour the vines, the lakes, and the lovely gardens, plus the areas around Blenheim. The convent is near most of the wineries. Leoni and her husband were delightful hosts, and assist with restaurant reservations and recommendations. Breakfast was delicious and was served on beautiful china. You won't be disappointed. Perfect wine country experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is a great place to enjoy New Zealand's Wine Country! The hosts are absolutely delightful! The rooms are clean and combine modern amenities with traditional decor. The grounds of this homestead are beautifully maintained with great gardens from which your food for breakfast comes from! The location is close to multiple vineyards which make a wine-tasting tour very convenient! The hosts provide bicycles if you like to take a ride into town, there is a pool, loads of space to walk on the property and the host/staff chose some wonderful restaurants for us! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Redpandachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

From the moment I was collected at the train station I was made to feel completly welcome and at home.

The location, rooms, breakfast, pool and pre drinks selection are all on a par with the best 5 star places I have stayed around the world.

But what sets this apart is the level of personal attention to detail, concern for your stay being perfect and delivered with humour, professionalism and style!

Cant wait to come back ..

Stayed: January 2009
Thank sianhession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed here for one night and the hosts were fantastic - helping us with dinner reservations (Herzog's, highly recommended) and advice about wineries. Great facilities - pool, library and a lounge with billiards table and open bar. Breakfast was great, featuring grapefruit grown on site. .If you are looking for an elegant, well managed place to enjoy wine country from, try here.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank boston65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Not at all worth the hefty price. Stayed in the honeymoon suite. The bathroom had mold on the walls!! They were painting the building each
morning of our stay and it was quite loud outside our room beginning at 7AM. Host was friendly. Would not reccommend this place unless you
get a bargain of a deal.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank nina2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
3.7 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
23 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
3.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Lodge

Address: 776 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand (Formerly Old Saint Mary's Convent)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $920 - $1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marlborough Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Lodge, a luxury boutique hotel (formerly Old St Mary's Convent), has been fully renovated and refurbished and is now offers 10 luxury suites over two floors each with private ensuite. Also offered is a full time concierge, inhouse dining and 16 acres of beautiful grounds. The Lodge is a private haven located in the world-famous Marlborough wine region but is conveniently within 10 minutes of Marlborough Airport and Blenheim township. Children 10+ are welcome at the lodge, or children of all ages if the lodge is booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marlborough Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Lodge Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing