We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Rock Ferry Wines

Rock Ferry Wines
Ranked #24 of 68 things to do in Blenheim
Attraction details
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Myself and my wife to be took some advice to visit the vineyard. Unfortunately, this turned out to be a major mistake. We where served by, we believe, one of the owners and were subject to a very rude individual. On asking questions regarding the vineyard, I received a response that showed the establishments true colours. I asked a simple question: what is the vineyards "famous" wine/grape. The response was that the area was obviously know for...
I will advise anyone that knows anything about wine to avoid as you will be instantly disliked (my wife's words) and spoken down too. The owner took an obvious dislike to myself and made it know. Extremely unprofessional. Avoid.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Winery/Cafe”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Second time I have visited Rock Ferry.....believe me it is easy if you book if you want to dine then you wont be disappointed if they are busy (and they usually are). Very good cellar door experience and this followed through to the meal outside on the deck.

Great thing is the wines available at the cellar door are exactly the same price to diners...thats great to see. Very leisurely lunch with no pressure to hurry.

The meal portions were generous and the outside dining area is fantastic.

Well Done Rock Ferry !!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TraceyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mouthwater lunch and delicious wine”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped here for a tasting after a morning in the Omaka Aviation Center and had to stay for lunch. Everything smelled so good we ended up sitting at a table basically in the tasting room, not even in the dining area (which was booked solid - so if you have the foresight it may be worth making a reservation) to eat there. I ordered a fish I'd never heard of and it was delicious. The fish was cooked perfect and the vegetable sides and sauces paired very well. Everything tasted very fresh.

The wine should not be overshadowed by the great food. We really enjoyed our tasting and the host was very knowledgeable. The first bottle of wine from New Zealand we opened when we got home was from Rock Ferry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renwick, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch with great service and lovely setting”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Open from late morning until 4.30pm so ideal for early or late lunch - really nice garden setting as well as lovely atmosphere inside. Welcoming staff, great little menu with gluten free options - I had the courgette, corn and spinach fritters - fresh, tasty and very moreish.
Really nice 'out of town' option - a little haven!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pleasant staff and a tasty meal that was good value for money made this a definite "must go back there' luncheon experience.
Also set in lovely grounds with a beautiful garden.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Ferry Wines also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Rock Ferry Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing