We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but don't pay for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but don't pay for breakfast”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is comfortable and clean. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. I would have given them 5 out of 5 except we paid extra for breakfast. The details didn't say that it was only for continental and nor did the waitress tell us when we ordered the cooked meal. All the food was pretty poor. OK it didn't cost much but I would just rather have gone somehwere and had something nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plastickiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for your reveiw,we really do appriciate comments from our guests.We constantly strive to improve our service by giving our customers what they want.I was disapointed to see that you did not enjoy our breakfast,which we believe to be above what most other hotels offer for the price.Our guests tell us that they dislike paying high prices for average hotel breakfasts.Continental buffet breakfast is available for $15.95 which includes meats,cheeses fresh fruit and most cereals while cooked breakfasts are ordered seperately with an additional $9 charge.While we do appriciate your comments on this media it is hard for us to make improvements to our service if our guests do not tell us exactly what they would like improved.However with the limited information you have left us we will take this on board and look at what extra we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    34
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
72
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Kerry and Lee, thanks so much for you great hospitality, you dont' know how much it was appreciated. Your facility is very lovely but not topped by your gracious care of your guests.

Kindest Regards,
Sue Beernink
Hendry Premium Imports, Inc.
Crystal Lake, IL 6014

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hi Sue.
thank you for your kind comments.It was a pleasure being able to help you out of predicament.We enjoyed your company and look forward to your return whenever that may be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived fairly late in the day in Blenheim. Of course every Hotel/Motel we phoned was booked. Luckily when we phoned the quality Hotel in Marlborough - they had a room! Comfortable, clean, with a fridge!
Reception was welcoming and I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We did not take too long to meet all the family - Mum and Dad; Son and Daughter-in-Law; Grand-children and the dog. Just a friendly family run, small hotel (only 29 rooms) just on the edge of Blenheim in Marlborough.

Breakfast was simple but adequate, Dinner was more extensive, and large serves. bar service was very good.

Overall, the service was magnificent.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Again I have returned to this Hotel. It is not my first visit. This time I met friends from Christchurch in Blenheim and I chose to stay at the Quality Hotel Marlborough as I am very comfortable here and know I will be very well catered for.
The Marlborough Wine and Food Festival was the reason for my trip to Blenheim as well as having quality time with old friends.
The Hotel was as usual busy with many guests but this did not alter the attention given by the staff.
My room was as usual impeccable, clean, and so comfy. Being a woman on my own the other consideration when staying away from home is feeling safe and secure. This I certainly do feel when I stay at this Hotel.
The weather over this weekend was very hot but the Hotel itself is kept at a lovely temperature plus they have a gorgeous pool.
I did not try the restaurant but did glance at the menu in the Compendium. If I had not have had meals arranged with friends elsewhere I would certainly have tried the food as it read and sounded very good.
Thank you to all here and I look forward to staying with you again if the oppurtunity presents for me to visit Blenheim in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

While uninspiring this place does have certain charms, a nice pool area and bar among them. Our room was very dark looking out onto an overgrown inner courtyard which made for a depressing feel. Bathrooms were good. Breakfasts were good-ish and served by a delightful lady but the dinner we had was pretty poor - dreadful, cold onion soup and a shrimp cocktail which used the nastiest type of frozen prawns. Even the waitress was embarrassed as we had asked if the prawns were fresh and she had checked with the kitchen before we ordered. The steak main course was not as described on the menu. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.Im sorry that the courtyard garden had not been trimmed before your stay,our gardner had it on his list to do before he broke his leg but we are pleased to say it was done last week and now looks fabulous.
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal in the restaurant,in fact we are so confident of our standards that we offer a full refund if not completey happy.We have changed our menu recently so we can concentrate on a menu featuring fresh local produce.I would be gratefull if you could contact me so we can show you that we truly believe in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I had an awesome stay at this hotel during December.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering us information on what is available to do in the area, as it was our first time visiting Marlborough.
The food in their Restuarant is top Quality.
The rooms were very clean...my partner always checks for this anywhere we stay.
We would definetily stay here again and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Property: Quality Hotel Marlborough
Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing