We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

A clean, tidy and quite up to date hotel. Room was comfortable and large. Bathroom a little dated though completely adequate. Restaurant meals were above average quality. Staff kind and courteous. May be a little warm in summer as the room did not have air conditioning though completely adequate for cooler months. I would stay at my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getmoosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    49
    33
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
70
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was stopping overnight before catching the ferry, as so many Blenheim visitors do, and found this on the internet - hotel luxury at a very reasonable price, much better value than the motel I stayed at last time. Comfortable, well furnished room, convenient off street parking, helpful staff, good dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, friendly helpful staff - what more can you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We drove into the carpark tired and walked inside to a warm welcome, and instantly relaxed. the room was excellent.........large, well presented with quality toiletries provided. Quiet and very handy to a very good river walk, and close to the Pollard park gardens/golf areas. The Continental breakfast IS definitely worthwhile...we loved it, and it looks out to a lovelly pool area, which although we did not partakeof, we feel sure it would be most comfortable and in a quite romantic setting.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Knew we had some down time while in Blenheim and knew we would be exhausted on arrival so were all so excited about the heated pool - had imagined the children having a lot of fun while we relaxed poolside - only to find on arrival that the pool was empty of water for maintenance, made the more frustrating by the unbelievably beautiful hot day! Were also looking forward to some adult privacy so was disappointed on arrival to see that the two beds upstairs are on a mezzanine floor, not a separate room. Other than that, we loved our stay. Buffet breakfast was great for hungry boys, room was very clean with lovely linen and towels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review,it is these that help us improve our service.
I must apologize for the pool being empty as we had just had it painted and needed to wait several days before we could fill it,unfortunately the tradesmen also had to wait for the weather to improve as we had had a wet few weeks before this.You have a good point about the family room we gave you,we do have two others with separate sleeping but both these were also full during your stay but we may have been able to swap you into one of these depending on arrivals and demands.As always we appreciate hearing our guests views on the hotel as this improves both our service and operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were charged 150 dollars after we checked out. The hotel said that we were smoking in their rooms and our room stunk of smoke. Firstly we did not smoke in the rooms, more importantly we don't even smoke. They have refused to take this charge back. So a very nice stay was ruined after the holiday. I will not be visiting this hotel again. Beware of extra charges!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keepawake, Owner at Quality Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Fisrt off we hate applying charges to our guests after they have left and over the last six years have only had to do this 4 times.
As our hotel has only smoke free rooms our guests know that on arrival the rooms will smell fresh and clean.
We have had occasions when guests have smoked in rooms and have not charged as we consider the smell will dissipate before the next check in.
Unfortunatly on this occasion it was not this guests room that had the smoke damage but their traveling companions,and it had very bad smoke odor with buts still in a cup beside the bed.As both rooms were secured with a single credit card we had no option but to take payment from this guests card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

the rooms were very clean and well appointed, the bathroom was very spacious and very clean. the owners were very friendly and we enjoyed a few drinks at the bar before moving into their restaurant which was very good and had reasonable pricing, if you are going to stay in Blenheim stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

After looking at many overpriced, low quality motels in Blenheim, I stumbled unto this very nice hotel. This fourteen year old facility was once associated with the Copthorne line of NZ hotels. Every guest room has a different layout and each is appointed very well. Unlike many motels along the main drag, this hotel was exceptionally quiet. The price of $124/night was reasonable considering what the less-than-desirable motels were charging. My stay was comfortable, the services excellent, conveniently located within walking distance of downtown and good value for money. Highly recommend. If you mention this review to the host (of English and Maori decent), he may provide you with a cold draught from the bar, as he did for me. Even if he doesn't, the friendliness of the staff is welcoming.

Room Tip: If they have low attendance, ask to see other rooms to get one best suited for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.3 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlborough

Property: Quality Hotel Marlborough
Address: 20 Nelson St, Blenheim 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Blenheim
Quality Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing