We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the cost” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not well soundproofed. We could often hear noise from rooms above/beside us and the corridor. In particular, we were woken at 3:30am by people returning to the hotel.

We had breakfast at the hotel one morning. It was the worst hotel buffet breakfast I've ever had - cheap and nasty. Even the orange juice has been mixed with orange fruit juice drink. And the serviette I was given had already been used.

Despite being in one of NZ's top wine regions, the hotel lacked tourist information such as maps of local wineries.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You have raised a number of issues which are very concerning and will get further investigation. Maybe you would be able to give me a call on 03 520 6187 to discuss this further?

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    135
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
173
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel was close to shops ,staff very helpful plenty, of car spaces and no charge to park ! the bed was extremely comfortable . The shower was roomy and not over the bath !! Reasonably priced room , good bar and dining room all in all our stay was very enjoyable . Didn't use the spa and sauna but a good addition a bit cold for swimming pool but it looked great !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough sometime in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the region to do a wine tour. We were pleasantly surprised by our room, which was very reasonably priced. Our king sized bed was super comfortable and a great deal of thought had obviously been put into the rooms from the mirror demister, to the well stocked mini bar, to the handwritten welcome card and chocolates.

It's definitely worthwhile booking the spa and sauna for an hour which gives you free private access!

The location of the hotel was great, right next to a lovely park and walking distance to the center of town.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toria1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I appreciate the time it has taken to write your review and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time in Marlborough. It is a great place to come and visit and along with the numerous top class wineries we have attractions such as the Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre and of course the stunning Marlborough Sounds.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Blenheim in the future but in the meantime do not forget that the Scenic Group has hotels throughout New Zealand from the Bay of Islands down to Gore, all offering the same warrm friendly service that you experienced here.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel was close to everything. Ample off street parking. There was a lift up to our floor with plenty of room for luggage etc. The hotel looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Our room was spacious with a well stocked mini bar. Bed was great to sleep in. Huge shower area.one hour free Wifi The restaurant was spacious with a good variety of food on offer. Staff were very helpful. There is a spa, sauna and swimming pool on site . One small thing i liked was the small bag provided for guests to take home toiletries that had only been used once or twice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronikaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and it is good to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. You are correct in assuming that the hotel has been recently refurbished. All areas of the hotel have been done and we feel it is looking great.

Many thanks once again and I hope to see you again.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The rooms are modern, comfortable and well appointed with a no-fuss style. There is a good working station for laptops. As will all Scenic Suites chains, the beds are comfortable and there are wonderful toiletries provided. I was on the top floor and had attic style windows that opened to allow fresh air in that are nice. The restaurant menu for both dinner and breakfast had good ranges of options, including room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the near future - either on business or to explore the wonderful local vineyards or the Marlborough Sounds.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

After travelling for over 39 hours from the middle east to NZ we were looking forward to a long sleep. Check-in was pleasant and straightforward. Recently renovated, the hotel is modern and clean. Free wifi allowed catching up with family and friends after travelling. The room was spotless and the bathroom well laid out with a great shower. The hotel was quiet overnight. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we have had in many years. So after just one night, the jet lag was almost gone. We have stayed at other hotels on arriving in NZ, but none have been as comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a comfortable time recovering from your travels. The 1 hours Free Wifi is something that Scenic Hotels has introduced in to all of it's properties and it has proved extremely popular.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quiet location near a church and park area. Comfortable and clean room, and good place to stay after getting off the ferry from Wellington, before our drive to Kaikoura. It was really hot when we arrived and the outdoor pool was very refreshing and much needed. Nice quiet bar area to have a drink before going out to dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your review and for staying with us earlier in the year.
The outside pool is a wonderful asset for those hot Blenheim days and we also have air conditioning throughout the hotel ensuring a comfortable stay no matter what the weather.
Mondrians Restaurant, within the Hotel, provides great food at reasonable prices for those that would not rather venture out but the centre of town is only a short walk away for those who would prefer to explore.
I hope you had an enjoyable trip to New Zealand and hope to be able to welcome you back to Blenheim one day.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing