We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Looking for last minute accommodation this is where we ended up - it was fabulously priced/cheap even as it has just completed a brand new renovation throughout. The hotel is well located right in town. A great stay overall. However the restaurant was expensive for in house food, mains all around $40 and nothing exceptional, however the food was delicious....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanguedocDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The team are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return very soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    138
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
27
178
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Coolness greets you the moment I stepped into the room. The room gives you a sense of freshness from the warm summer mild heat. It has a clean cut look and lots of channel to watch. Best of all the internet is free but wireless is chargeable at a small fee - Should have given free but better than hotels in Wellington where every hotel charges.

The toiletries was luxurious but I hope they provide room slippers. I always bring one along..a pair of light but cheap rubber Japanese slippers.

The in-house kettle was absolutely clean I must say in most NZ hotels unlike elsewhere I have been.

Another tip for those who need to iron, do not use the inhouse iron as they are using dirty and ruin your clothes, buy one traveling steamer instead, it always work on my already iron shirt and coat. If you do not have one, use the steam shot function from the iron without touching your clothes. Also a hair dryer can be used to even out crease on woollen coat, try it, you will be surprised.

The staff makes you feel welcome and are helpful in giving directions. If you wish to stock up, like I always do, there is a supermarket not far to walk from the hotel.

There is also a small but nice park in front of the hotel and it is really nice for a quiet and peaceful holiday ( I wish I was but got to work!) Absolutely good for honeymooners and retirement. Good for doing Yoga or Taichi too. In the evening, the air is crisp and fresh!

When I was there on Sundays the shops were closed so I headed back to the hotel restuarant and had the nice fish steak. In the morning, I ordered a waffle and it is the most delicious!

There is a self service laundry area but as usual when you are rushing from place to place there is no time for laundry.

Oh sorry forgot to mention the be careful part....I nearly cut my fingers opening the cupboard doors as the handles had sharp edges and although the aircon was powerful, the slowest speed was still too powerful...no complaints though.

Hope you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravelIWrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I am sure they will be most helpful to all who read this. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Blenheim with plenty of car parking. Our room was contemporary and comfortable with a stylish shower room. The hotel reception was helpful, providing something we wanted at 10 pm at night. The outdoor pool is heated to a warm temperature and pleasant. There is also a sauna if you get the key from reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments and to score 5 out of 5. We have passed this onto our team. Hope to see you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms were clean and very comfortable, the restaurant food was very good and all the staff were friendly and Helpful. The dining room looks out to Seymour park with its Fountain and Memorial Clock Tower set in manicured gardens. For a change of venue to have a wine or beer in lovely surrounds The RSA and Marlborough club is 5minutes walk away, with excellent bar and restaurant...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. If you are ever in the South Island again, please look us up. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Room 3.5 star. Very nice bathroom but shower only.
The evening meal really very good. A nice dining room with good quality table service.
The main course was an excellent salmon en crut, followed by a well presented desert.
I recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and your nice comments in regards to our restaurant food. Hope to see you back in New Zealand soon. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wionderfully comfortable beds in stylish and well-appointed rooms.
Free wifi (which helpful staff sorted out for me)
A pleasant stay.
The pool is a nice bonus (but a pity it is shaded in the afternoon, when people generally want to use it).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. If you are ever back In New Zealand, we trust you will look us up. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Scenic Hotel Marlborough is ideally situated in Blenheim and is a good base to explore the wine region, although a glass of wine in the bar was expensive. The room was very well decorated and very comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Our dinner was delicious, I can certainly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are certainly getting great comments about the food and appreciate your kind comments. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing