We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tip Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tip Top Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent hotel refurbished to very high standard with the modern feel. Very clean throughout. The refurbishment is I think about 95% complete with a couple of public rooms near completion close to the reception area.Dinning area modern and bright with attentative staff on hand. Breakfasts good with large choice.
Reception staff very helpful, although internet access is a hefty 5 dollars to use.
Great touch on departure. Staff saw coach off with basket of fruit for us trippers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The multi million dollar refurbishment finishes on 5th December and we are getting great reviews from both guests and the tourism industry. If you are ever back in New Zealand, please look us up. regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    136
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
175
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has just had a major makeover and we arrived a few days before completion. Our room was well fitted out and absolutely spotless.The service was exceptionally helpful. The hotel is next to the gardens and a short stroll to the central area and the riverside railway. Try the Scotch Bar which is the main outlet for Wired beers. In-room wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very proud of the new refurbishment and your comments certainly help us fell that we have got this right!. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

At the time I visited the hotel was being refurbished, but the disruption was very much kept to a minimum. The rooms are ultra modern, almost too clinically clean and white in decor, and with every electronic gadget and connection to the outside world you can think of. The staff are unbelievably friendly, though one senses a certain way of training them has this result! I did not eat in the restaurant as I thought the menu looked too fussy and avant garde, a bit pricey too. I had to pay for the wi-fi which in this day and age seemed unnecessary, and it was expensive. I would though recommend this as a place to stay as it is very convenient walking into town and only three blocks away fro an excellent Supermarket.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine on either side of the main corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. As you have seen, the refurbishment has been very successful with many fantastic comments. The staff are great and also receive many positive remarks. We forward to hosting you again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sadly we were there during a major refurb, so that should be taken into account. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can't comment on the facilities, because they weren't ready. But the bedroom was very clean and nice. Bed was a bit soft for our liking, but many people complain about hard beds. You can't please everybody. Breakfast was very basic and not very good - I hate powdered eggs that then sit in a container and shed water........ The only thing that did irk me was that we used the mini-bar and chip drawer - and they tried to charge me for items I did not have. I hate hotels that 'try-it-on'. I challenged it and the items were removed. Would I stay here again? Don't think so

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Scenic Hotel Marlborough. We have just finished the multi million dollar upgrade of our facilities and public areas which have had extremely positive comments. In regards to breakfast, the eggs are actually free range, however we are reviewing the time that these eggs stay in the buffet. We are also reviewing our minibar procedures, however it is pleasing that our reception staff were able to reverse any erroneous charges. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Decided to stay here knowing that their rooms had all been renovated and our usual place ,we decided had priced itself out of the market. Really pleased we did as while it does not look to good from the outside at the moment especially with the main areas being currently renovated. The rooms are spacious, really nicely done, lovely bathroom and really comfy beds. Will be back here when we come to Blenheim next.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay here at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. The public areas of the hotel are due to open this weekend - this will aline the areas of the hotel to the same high standard we have achieved in the accommodation rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,

Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference last week. The rooms were very comfortable - great bed with padded topper on mattress - was like sleeping on a cloud! Not too far to walk to the Marlborough Convention Centre - did it a few times in heels and it only took 5-10 minutes at most.

Room Tip: Spa and Sauna are being refurbished with the Hotel make-over so were not available to try out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindagoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough.
We trust you enjoyed your time here during your conference.
It is unfortunate that our Spa and Sauna area was unavailable during your stay, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel once our refurbishment is complete so you can experience all the facilities our hotel has to offer.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel is in process of being renovated but I stayed in one o the renovated rooms. Very comfortable spacious great bed and furnit-rue and fittings, Well thought out. Bathroom and shower were excellent. Had room service breakfast (no extra charge which was a plus) as te restaurant hasn't been modernised yet and looked a bit like a canteen.
Location was great close to main town but on a quiet street with a lovely park next door

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed really good I was on 3rd floor on car park side and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnD098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough. We are currently in the middle of our refurbishment of our public areas, and I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable.
I hope to welcome you back to our refurbished hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.2 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing