We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here one night with my daughter. She especially loved the chocolates they left in the room. For the price we paid, this was a really nice clean rooms. The beds were super soft (had a pillow top), which I really enjoyed. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the heater. When it was on, there was a bright green light on the wall by my bed, but it seemed to go off automatically after some time (I discovered in the middle of the night). Luckily the blankets were heavy, but it seemed I had to choose between warmth and a bright light in the room... Just a pet peeve of mine (seems like so many hotels have bright or blinky lights by the bed). Everything else was really nice, so I would go back (maybe would prefer not in winter).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your local welcoming chocolates, and our feather beds.
We are sorry that the heatpump light was disruptive to your sleep, this is under constant revision as we try to ensure the units are unobtrusive to our guests stay - therefore this feedback is very useful for us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.
Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    135
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
173
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed one night here with my young granddaughter. Everything was great from the hand written welcome note and chocolates on arrival to the bag to take home the toiletries that were unused. They went the extra mile for my 3 yr old grandaughter, Staff great room great couldn't ask for more in comfort and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We value your feedback, we are always striving to offer tailored services for our guests and it is fantastic that you felt well looked after by the staff here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent a night on our tour of the South Island. The hotel was booked as a part of our package. This seemed to one of the best hotel out of our whole trip.

The Scenic Hotel seemed to be newly refurnished. Everything about the hotel was excellent. The room had a large flat screen TV on the wall and the bed huge and comfortable.
The bathroom was very fresh and clean with a good selection of toiletries and had a bag to take unfinished toiletries home in!

Staffs was very accommodating and polite.

The hotel is very near the centre of Blenheim and it's a pleasant walk into and around the town. We had a pleasant walk by the river, which is on the left out of the hotel and managed to find supermarket near the main road.
The restaurant service was great and was the only hotel on our tour, which gave us "a la carte" menu.

My wife used the sauna but had to book and get a slot in between the other users on our tour.

We certainly would use this hotel as and when we return to the area.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms would be fine as the hotel seemed to have gone through a recent refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettInkster, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time here in Blenheim - the river walk is definetly refreshing after a day travelling on a coach.
Our hotel is about to under go the second stage of refurbishment which will focus on our public areas. This will see the reception, bar, restaurant and conference areas refurbished to the same excellent standard as our accommodation rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a three week tour of NZ. We bought a package - so we can't comment on the value of an individual hotel but can compare and contrast with lots of NZ hotels.

The Scenic Hotel seemed to be newly refurnished. Our room and the public areas were very bright and fresh. The room was large, bed was big, nice telly fitted into wall and plenty of space for stuff and to sit. Lovely bathroom with lots of supplies - including a bag to take unfinished toiletries home in!

The 'mini bar' was particularly well equipped - it came with an 'intimacy kit'!! Never seen that before. BUt it's indicative of the thought put into the hotel and your stay there.

Staff warm and welcoming - check in a nd out very quick and efficient. Plenty of parking and not far to carry cases.

The hotel is on an 'eco' trip which is also good to support.

The hotel is very near the centre of Blenheim and it's a pleasant walk into and around the town. That said, we found nothing open in the town in the evening and had no choice but to return to the hotel to eat. The restaurant seemed a little pricey on a quick glance so we went in the bar and had soup and cheese board. Very nicely done in a relaxed, friendly environment.

The sauna looked nice as did the pool: the pool is on the small side but good for a dip. But we didn't use either ourselves.

Wifi / internet was a chargeable extra unfortunately.

Overall a comfortable and pleasant night: we'd definitely go back there if we returned to Blenheim.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your thorough feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your support of our environmental efforts.
It is a shame that the town was quiet when you visited, however sometimes this can add to the relaxation of a trip away. Blenheim is a town of continuous development, so we hope in future visits it meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a wine country visit. The hotel is newly renovated and quite stylish. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Good location. Terrific hot tub. Would recommend this place to anyone. A very good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the use of our hotel facilities - sometimes at the end of the day there is nothing more relaxing than a spa or sauna.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed in this very nice and fresh hotel during our visit to Marlborough wine country. The location is perfect and very close to the city. The staff was fantastic and very service minded. They have a nice outdoor pool. We will definitely stay there again when given the chance.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tompix71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us at the Scenic Hotel Marlborough. Your positve feedback has been pased onto my employees and is most appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and were very impressed with the updates of this room. The bed was so comfortable and a huge television in the wall. Overall, the room was quite spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel also offers a lovely swimming pool, spa and sauna and after looking at other hotels around Blenheim this certainly looked the best. The location is also nice with a park across the road and a very short walk to shops, restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We have recently under gone a refurbishment of our accommodation rooms, and your positive feedback on our new rooms is appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Marlborough in the future.

Kind regards,
Brett Inkster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.3 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#20 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Property: Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing