We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous boutique vineyard”

Terravin Cellar Door
Ranked #37 of 68 things to do in Blenheim
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The TerraVin Cellar Door is located on a North facing slope in the Omaka Valley. A beautiful site with the most amazing views.Come and try our hand picked, hand crafted wines in our little Cellar Door hosted by Nicki.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous boutique vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a little gem! We were thoroughly impressed by Nicky and loved the way she took us through their wines. Mike Eaton was also there and it was great to hear just how passionate he is.

The wines we sampled were beautiful although 'J' was our favourite - a bottle of which sits atop our wine rack now we're home!

We're glad we made the trip up the steep hill (no mean feat on a bike in the pouring rain!) to find one of our favourite bottles of wine on our honeymoon - thanks for having us!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJB0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
206 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We loved this place - the best of all the wineries we visited that day. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Wine was excellent. We shipped a case home.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What an amazing winery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were welcomed by Jo & Mike - the owners of Terravin. Jo showed us around outside and told us how the grapes are tended before starting our wine tasting. Jo and Mike are both very knowledgable, committed and passionate about Terravin wines and are producing some beautiful wines. We would thoroughly recommend a tasting at Terravin

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We visited Terravin as part of a guided tour. We were picked up and asked by the driver if we had any preference to where we went. We said no, as we wanted an overall view, and it is always best to "ask the locals".

We visited 5 wineries during the day and 'boy' what a difference between each one. We found that the big more famous names were average with average service, the one winery that everyone knows in Marlborough was the worst with very unattentive staff and poor attitude. Felt the lady who served us was having a bad day....

The icing on the cake for us was a visit to Terravin. Wow, fantastic location. Superb wines and we were served by a very bubbly, interesting and knowledgable English lady. She was very passionate about the wines and so she should be. They were the best we had tried all day. Our driver told us we would be impressed but we were blown away by the overall package you get at terravin.

We bought 3 bottles, The Terravin lady offered to put them in a 6 pack box, so they wouldn't rattle around in the van. She advised us to keep the box as it would be great to keep bottles in on the Campervan. We did this and have even used it to bring gifts back in to the UK. The box is now sitting on our kitchen bench as a reminder of such a fantastic experience.

We will be in touch with you later in the year as we will be celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary in Novemember and we want TerraVin wines to be our selection.

I have told all my friends about TerraVin, a few are visiting New Zealand this year.

We will be back next January, and we will definately visit Terravin again. Please keep up the good work, you put a lot of wineries to shame........

Kind Wishes for the future

Sylvia and Norman Patt

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

the wine is divine. I bought four bottles and they are shipping free to my house! Great tasting service - which is free!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terravin Cellar Door also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Terravin Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing