We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally placed to break a long trip north”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montana Lodge Motel
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Kurow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideally placed to break a long trip north”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I came across this motel on a trip North prior top going across Cook Straight. I hadn't booked but was able to get a room at reasonable cost. The rooms are spacious, well designed, and well-equipped. Clean and comfortable, anmd the hosts most helpful. I stayed an extra night as I was not due to catch the ferry immediately. Good sound night's sleep, surprisingly quiet given its location close to the highway. The only slight criticism is that the internet was a bit pricey - free wirelss would be better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg W, Manager at Montana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Yes the distance to the Picton Ferry terminal is only 20 minutes. At the time this review was written, we were very new to the wifi scene. The policy has changed since then and you now get 200 mb with our compliments. Thank you for taking the time to submit the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Marg thanks for waiting for me at midnight to get from the ferry to you , your personal service was really really appreciated , great service will stay again and reccomend to others.
That beer on arrival certainly quenched my thirst and it was great to be able to order my breakfast then , no problems just awesome.

Room Tip: Get a room not next to main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg W, Manager at Montana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We are well attuned to the vagaries of the Cook Strait ferries, and when a guest has indicated that they are travelling by this means we keep in contact, not only with the ferry timetable, but if we have cellphone details we will call. There is nothing worse than stumbling round in the dark, in a place you've never been to before. We will always ensure that our guests receive a warm welcome, even if it is late at night. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Clean and comfortable little studio. Super friendly and helpful. Suggestion of dinner accross the road was much appreciated and would recommend a stay. There is a pool on site although we did not use it. Blenheim centre of town close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg W, Manager at Montana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 15, 2015
It's always nice to host visitors from overseas, it give us a chance to show-case our region. Great guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Average Motel in average location.
This was a clean motel unit, in rather old style motel complex. (two single beds in one bedroom and double bed in lounge). These were comfortable enough for the one night that we stayed after arriving in Picton on the interisland ferry.
The gentleman who booked us in was very helpful and friendly. The town of Blenheim is a car-ride away and this is located on the way out of town heading to Christchurch.
There is a lovely swimming pool available for guests (if this is what you are looking for).
No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaiatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg W, Manager at Montana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We find we are at the ideal place, when people come off the ferry at Picton and by the time they get to Blenheim, especially at night, Christchurch is a place to far. The centre of Blenheim is 10 minutes walk from the motel, with shops and fast food restaurants 5 minutes walk. Thank you for taking the time to submit the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

It's a typical motel. the rooms are quiet and clean. The center of Blenheim is around five minutes away by car. The vineyards are between fifteen and twenty minutes away by car. Good accommodation if somebody has children. There is a swimmingpool and play area. Maybe Blenheim is the better choice for staying as Picton.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marg W, Manager at Montana Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We could not help but agree that Blenheim is a better place to stay than Picton, but then we are biased. We agree with all your comments, and thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
1.8 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#25 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#19 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
Aston Court Motel
Aston Court Motel
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
ASURE Sundowner Motel
ASURE Sundowner Motel
#23 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Lodge Motel

Property: Montana Lodge Motel
Address: 71 Main Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Spacious ground floor units, each with its own carport. Ideal for family groups, teams and tour groups. 2 X studio units, 2 x studio plus units, 2 x 1 bedroom units, 1 x 1 bedroom plus and 4 x 2 bedroom units. Each units has separate full kitchen facilities, and separate bathroom facilities. Wifi, 150mb per day included in tarriff. Restaurant 100m across the road. 10 Minute walk to town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Montana Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Lodge Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing