We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service was quick” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppy Thai

Poppy Thai
Ranked #83 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 03 5794496
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“service was quick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

the food was ok, though the etree was really yummy, the meals were huge but good for value, didnt have to wait for a very long time which was good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggielowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    6
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deep fried deliciousness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Wow, those money bags and samosas really did hit the spot! Really nice staff and cool atmosphere, good amount of spice and pretty reasonably priced too! Go Poppy Thai!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The food was very nice, but sadly we were there as a family early evening so did not expect it to be too busy, it was not we were the only ones there until just after we had ordered then a party (stagg I think) came in/ lots of men having fun and that's fine but when the started to swear and shouting it was not nice to sit having dinner, one couple walked in and then walked out. I wish the waitress had said something before we ordered as I think we would have left the table was booked so they knew there was going to be a table of at least 15 blokes :-( we ate very quickly and left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Char N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch here. Very reasonably priced- $9-12 for a main and it was fresh and arrived quickly.
Great option for lunchtime dining in Blenheim. The satay sauce is fantastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good Thai meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We are fortunate to have lived for some time in Thailand so think we know a bit about Thai food. We ordered a Thai fish salad and Thai green curry with chicken plus plain rice. Both main dishes were generous servings with a lot more vegetables than is often the case. The fish salad had mussels, scallops, prawns, squid and fish and was tasty and enjoyable. For our taste the green curry could have had more Thai spices but for most Kiwis it may have been plenty spicy. We asked for and were promptly brought extra rice. The service was attentive on a quiet Wednesday night and we had an enjoyable meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy Thai also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Poppy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing