We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday evening meal”
Review of Poppy Thai

Poppy Thai
Ranked #85 of 115 Restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 03 5794496
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday evening meal”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

good Thai food, great service, very quiet nite when we were there, but known to be busy. Lovely Satay meal

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank metherin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    7
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad service”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

These guys need more staff, i phone ordered then went down to pick up 15mjns later. Waited 15mins while i was there. While i was waiting a table of 6 left, 3 different couples came in, didnt get served, then left. Food was average.
Get more staff, especially for a friday night

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sezza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just absolute crap”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst restaurant I have ever been to. The food was average, but the service was just utter crap. The staff were wearing skate shoes, hanging out with their mates behind the bar and smoking outside the front door. One person was walking around in a towel. I kid you not. A towel. How trashy. It was an absolute disaster. Don't bother with this place. It's a joke.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayliemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New owners?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I hadnt been to poppy thai for a few months but I was dissapointed this visit,the satay sauce had a scorched taste and we were not asked if we needed any drinks so we just had water,the young girl waiting on us was obviously learning as there were a few basic things that. Were missed out,Having said that the rest of the food was good and we will go back again and hopefully it will be all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassyO64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Lovely Service”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely restaurant! We were there with a group of whom one had a birthday, the waitress must have overheard that there was a birthday and they brought out a beautiful dessert dish after all our delicious meals. I had a chicken Pad Thai and it tasted like heaven! You get a ton of food for your money and great quality too! The staff are all friendly and not too pushy. Overall had a fab night! Would def recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppy Thai also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Poppy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing