We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour, small group, friendly and knowledgeable guide.”

Na Clachan Wine Tours
Ranked #5 of 40 Food & Drink in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join us on a relaxed, friendly wine tour around some of Marlborough's best wineries. Na Clachan have grown organic grapes for Allan Scott Family Estate blanc de blancs, so we know the industry from the roots up. Discover the history and geography of the wine region, how grapes are grown and transformed into stunning wines and what makes Marlborough wines, particularly sauvignon blanc stand out from the crowd. Small group size. Modern air conditioned vehicle. Great wines. Pick-up and return to local accommodation.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Newport Pagnell
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tour, small group, friendly and knowledgeable guide.”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We took the afternoon tour with Helen as our guide. Helen was great, very friendly and knowledgeable about wines. She made the tour interesting and fun and provided heaps of information on winemaking in the region. We started the tour with a wine tasting and lunch at Rockferry both were excellent and to be recommended. This was followed by several more tastings at other vineyards during which we learnt a lot about the grapes, how they were grown, different soils etc. The tour group was small and the tour was tailored to the requirements of our group. We were lucky enough to also be staying at one of the two Na Clachan cottages and we returned there very mellow having had a lovely day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An entertaining and informative afternoon.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a great afternoon tour and this is one of our high lights of our 5 week trip around New Zealand. Our guide was Helen who was so knowledgeable about the area, the many different wines, the growing and making of the local wines. Helen wanted to demystify wine tasting and helped us to find the wines we really enjoyed. We enjoyed it so much that the next day we went on our own to taste even more wines and enjoy a lunch a Rock Ferry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank clare g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcome surprise”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We really lucked into this tour. Our cruise ship added Picton due to weather and we had no idea what we were going to do at this port. Fortunately, we were directed to Helen at the information center. She was a delightful tour guide and Marlborough turned out to be our favorite wine region in New Zealand. She took us to four terrific wineries and provided a lot of information about the area. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic for newbies”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a review of the half day wine tour that we did in January 2014.

As newbies to wine tasting we had very little knowledge of the wines produced in the region and how they were made. This tour gave us a very good overview of the wines in the region. Helen, the tour guide, and the staff at the wineries were very helpful with which wines they thought we would like and explaining how they create the different flavours.

We had a few favourite wineries, Forrest in particular stood out from all the rest. Their wines were exquisite and the staff were beyond friendly and helpful.

I would definitely recommend touring with Helen as she takes you to a broad range of wineries and caters the tours to meet the interests of the group. A fantastic your - thank you Helen!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great wine tour with Helen!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went on a half day wine tour with Helen and went to 5 different wineries. Helen was very knowledgable about the complete wine making process and she was very accommodating taking us to wineries of our choice as well as others. She even went out of her way to show us the machinery used to harvest the grapes. We would highly recommend taking a wine tour with her.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank J_GW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Clachan Wine Tours also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Na Clachan Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing