We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great high class cuisine with local organic products”

Hotel d'Urville Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 115 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $56
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: de Burgh's Bistro at Hotel d'Urville has an excellent reputation for serving great food made with local produces and featuring the best of Marlborough wines on their extensive wine list.
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great high class cuisine with local organic products”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were there two evenings and enjoyed a high class cuisine .all products are locally sourced and both organic or bio and of high quality.All producers are known and explained.The service is very attentive and competent.All dishes of the menu were of excellent taste and well balanced and had the right delicacy.the wine list refers to the local vineyards of the region and represents also high quality.All in all a high class adress with a good relation of price and quality.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtmanght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    69
    27
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“our favorite restaurant in Blenheim”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food is consistently good - well cooked and innovative. Its nice to go to a restaurant where you know it will be hard to choose because all the food is good. Marie, the chef, is well known for her expertise in NewZealand. Love the clam bisque, and the carafes of local wine are good and comparatively inexpensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional food as always”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We eat regularly here and are never disappointed. Food is of a consistently high standard. Scallops were sublime and the clam bisque very good. Lamb was tender and the lentils with pomegranate molasses provided a wonderful accompaniment. Filet mignon cooked to perfection as were the frites. A Classic French dish! Service was efficient and we enjoyed good local wines, as always. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
745 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Thursday”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Touted as place for top innovative cuisine

First we were expecting a rustic historic dining room which it wasn't

Then being in Marlborough we expected our server to be of some help with the local wines which she wasn't

Starters were good
Scallops and bisque

Boar was sent back - unable to be cut or chewed. Server was not readily accepting of this even at end of meal

Second choice of lamb was proper but the accompanying lentils were sickly with excess mint

Wife's ribeye seemed like an enzyme treated piece of meat with no flavour accompanied by macdonald clone fries and salt

Wine selections were good especially our Pinot and Merlot

Goes without saying we were deeply disappointed with our meal in wine country

Helpful?
1 Thank Nlenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durvillemanager, General Manager at Hotel d'Urville Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed the scallops & clam bisque which are extremely popular. I am sorry that your mains were not enjoyed as much. The chef has passed your comments on to our supplier of wild boar and I can assure you that our steak is not enzyme treated and is sourced from Canterbury. We do offer a varied selection of both local and imported wines with the emphasis on locally produced varieties and you found a good pinot/merlot to accompany your meal. I am a little confused over your comments about the restaurant not being rustic or historic. The building is a conversion of a 1930's Public Trust building, built in the style of a bank. As an historic places trust building we are not allowed to compromise this look and have not done so. It still has the lofty high ceilings and original steel windows and native rimu floor. It is disappointing that you felt otherwise.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Divine!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Exceptional food, fantastic service and great ambiance. It was the perfect evening. We all loved it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel d'Urville Restaurant also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Hotel d'Urville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing