We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service”

de Burgh's Bistro @ Hotel d'Urville
Ranked #23 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: de Burgh's Bistro at Hotel d'Urville has an excellent reputation for serving great food made with local produces and featuring the best of Marlborough wines on their extensive wine list.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We had the Duck Liver Pâté and the Clam Bisque Soup for entrée, both were very good. For mains we had the the special of Whitebait and the Wild boar filets with a calvados jus, lardons, currents and almonds. The boar was just a bit overcooked but the flavours great.
Deserts were the Creme brûlée (perfect) and the Meringue.
Service was excellent with good knowledge of each dish and recommendations when asked for.
In terms of value for money, I think this was spot on and would definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    69
    27
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wild boar!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in town and booked in for dinner upon a recommendation from my friend.
Seafood bisque was delicious, and especially loved the wild boar.food was excellent.
The building itself is also stunning, lights up beautifully at night.
Only downside for us was that the wine was only from the Marlborough region. Nothing wrong with putting in a couple of bottles of Central Otago!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durvillemanager, General Manager at de Burgh's Bistro @ Hotel d'Urville, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi...Thanks for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your experience at D'urville's. I note your comment about Central Otago wines and yes we do have 3 excellent pinots from this area on our wine list. Next time you could try Mount Difficulty, Peregrine or the Squeeling Pig. We do try and concentrate on our wines from the Marlborough region but we also offer a selection from most regions.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This a place you have to dine at”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food, service, wine selection and pricing. The setting is very relaxing and menu is not huge but our group tried most items on the menu, I even got them to chnage mine fryes to potatoes, nothing was a problem. Overall price is higher than mid range but worth it as a treat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greggynewzeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Time to find a new butcher”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Mixed experience here. The whitebait fritters were superb. Light batter (just enough to find the fish), perfectly cooked and served with lemon juice and a simple sauce. Perfect. $26 steepish for an entree. Maybe 2 fritters for $18 rather than 3 for $26. The scallops entree was also excellent. Now for the negative side. New Zealand is famous for lamb. There are sheep everywhere. Admittedly most are for wool but there is also a pretty decent meat industry including plenty of exports. It should not be hard to find a decent loin chop. Not one of the 3 on my plate was acceptable. The meat was tough (and that is when you could get at it through the tendons, fat and gristle). There was none of the sweet lamby flThe bed of minted lentils was more than acceptable. The sides of steamed vegetables and garlic mash potato were both very good. However, a restaurant with pretensions like this one cannot get away with third rate cuts of meat. Find a new butcher, buy top quality loin chops and charge a few extra dollars for the dish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food hard to fault.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have to get this off my chest. Whoever thinks it is cool to close the blinds when it is still light outside needs to be told that it is not. In fact it is bizarre.

Secondly, to be asked to wait in the bar when the restaurant is 3/4 empty is also not cool.

The room (aside from the covered windows) is reasonably warm and welcoming.

The wait staff are well meaning but miss the detail that comes with training, experience and intuition.

The menu is well balanced and interesting without being overly long. The wine list was reasonable although no rose. Given the French theme of the establishment I would have liked more French style wines.

Bread was excellent but too large for two people. Drop the quantity and the price. The venison tartare and whitebait fritter entrees were outstanding as was the wild boar and entrecôte de boeuf. Perfectly cooked and well presented. There is an excellent chef working the pots and pans here.

Whilst pricey, the overall experience was very good.

16/20. If the staff were more attentive and quick to spot a need, then this could aspire to greatness. Open the blinds and let the daylight in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Burgh's Bistro @ Hotel d'Urville also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to de Burgh's Bistro @ Hotel d'Urville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing