We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tour of Malborough, magnificent scenery”

Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$167.76*
and up
Half-Day Wairau Lagoon Tour from Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Driftwood Retreat & Eco-tours brings you close to nature in the peaceful Wairau Lagoon, South of Picton. Stay at the cosy eco-lodge by an eight hectare wetland. Book a guided tour by kayak or van into the heart of the nearby lagoon where 92 species of bird has been identified. Hear about the human and natural history of the area by your friendly guide. All tours are complimented with homemade cooking.
Rotorua, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb tour of Malborough, magnificent scenery”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Will lead our tour through the Molesworth and Awatere Valley. It was magnificent scenery, every corner had another new view. Will engaged us with his local knowledge and wealth of flora information. He added to an already wonderful region. This is my first time to explore this area and I hope it won't be my last.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing secret!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had ocassion to visit on business and took the opportunity to look around, ask and listen to one of the most knowledgable people I have ever spoken to about Marlborough, it's history (of which there is a considerable amount not known to most including locals) the eco system at the doorstep, the bird life (including some very rare species) and all things "nature". The stand alone accommodation on-site is simply "paradise found" Exquisite and a rare find. Turn your "devices" to the off position, look, learn, relax and unwind only 10 minutes from town. Consider yourself VERY lucky to have made this discovery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Positive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly Memorable”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Aaron and I spent a fantastic late afternoon/evening on the water with Will and Vex (the dog). Our stay in the retreat accommodation was supurb, but this kayaking tour was simply stunning. Will is very knowledgable about the area and Vex is very entertaining, jumping from kayak to kayak. I can't recommend this highly enough!! If you want a relaxed, personal experience on the waters of the Marlborough, this is a gem! Thanks again!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
This was a lovely evening with amazing light with a couple of fascinating clients who wanted to know history, wildlife and who were very complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wetlands Kayak”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 8 days in New Zealand. We swam with wild dolphins, biked mountain passes, kayaked on the ocean, hiked and tasted wine. This was our last stop and it was a perfect end to an amazing trip. Will's knowledge of the wetlands, birds, the local ecology and history reflected years of curiosity and passion. We were so happy to have done this stop towards the end where all of Will's stories could 'color-in' our New Zealand experience. It was so great for our kids to learn how a place navigates changing industries and conservation efforts. Will brought the wetlands alive pointing out wildlife that often goes unnoticed. The kayak was gentle on the way out and challenging on the way back. We are pretty sporty but we had the feeling that Will could easily adjust for many levels. To top it all off, we had an incredible lunch of Salmon sandwiches, Will's whiskey cake and Rose's carrot cake. I swallowed all of my pride and asked to take the leftovers home. A stop at Driftwood Ecotours, is perfect for the naturalist, the curious, anyone up for a little adventure and exercise. If that's not enough...you don't have to leave your taste buds at home!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bestofcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
It's always rewarding to share a special place with clients who have an empathy with the environment. This family were so much fun and pleasure to guide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two days with Will”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend two days touring with Will. The first day we visited a lagoon, seashore and hiked back into a canyon. Will is extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife, history and geology of the area. The second day we visited back country and rode bikes, and hiked to the KT boundary. Again, we had a fantastic day with Will. We had a great bike ride, and learned about the area. On both days, we learned Will's lunches and "treats" are legendary. He is a great cook. Both days were well organized, but he always had a "plan b" if the weather changed, or we wanted a change. He was easy going, and fun to be with. We highly recommend Driftwood Ecotours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I always enjoy taking clients to do what they want to see in sharing the treasures of Marlborough. This was a enjoyable tour with two knowledgeable people who wanted to learn, experience and just soak up the atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Driftwood Retreat & Eco-Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing