We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, spacious unit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admirals Motor Lodge

Admirals Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admirals Motor Lodge
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
West Coast NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quiet, spacious unit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our motel was a few metres from the stream at the back so very quiet at night. A two bedroom unit provided ample space for only two couples with one couple downstairs (Queen bed in lounge/bathroom/kitchen) and another upstairs (Double room/another bathroom plus twin room). Cold when we arrived but heating more than adequate and quickly warmed up. Friendly welcome, helpful with queries. No time for TV or Wifi so can't comment. Felt cleaning could be a bit better (behind doors, marks on bathroom/kitchen floors and walls). Overall very good, value for money and would stay again/recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms around the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
39
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

When we first drove into the parking lot we thought this was just another motel. We stayed for two nights in a very nice large 2nd. floor room with a lot of natural light, a well equipped kitchenette, free wife (sometimes had to go outside to get it to work), the best TV with many channels, a newspaper delivered in the morning, good laundry facilities, a swimming pool and the use of a private hot tub. The management was very friendly and helpful. Also, a grocery store was just a short walk down the road. The room and facilities are clean and well maintained. So, this is a lot more than just another motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the rear of the property to avoid road noise and to have easy access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This motel is very spacious and reasonably priced for the five of us. We only stayed a night, much to the disappointment of the 14 year old who enjoyed having his own room complete with double bed and television! We had the bed in the living room which enabled us to have the tv and kitchenette after the kids had gone to bed.
Our host was extremely friendly and helpful.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A very warm & friendly welcome from the owner, with great tips on shopping & other details.We stayed in a upstairs unit which was very clean & roomy.Very quite, so we both had a good nights sleep.It was a budget room but was good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cabannes, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not as modern inside as outside appearance suggested but there were two good-sized bedrooms, a further double bed in the sitting room area, two bathrooms of reasonable size with quite good showers and a kitchen with good facilities and a variety of teas and coffees. Very clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Wifi didn't work in our room but hosts let me use my laptop in the office without charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferCashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have stayed in room 18 and 19, both rooms were clean.

The hosts are very welcoming, but the room are very dated.

The showers were good but overall bathroom size too small with tiny bathroom sink along the side of the toilet.

The bathrooms need to be double the size and these rooms could accomodate that given the overall size of the rooms.

The WIFI scheme (through Zenbu hotspot) is a total rip-off as mentioned by other reviewers and difficult to log onto.

When I complained the owners also let me use a cable to their internet and provided log in codes for free, I am happy with how they responded to difficulties with WIFI but really this system needs to be improved.

Value for money? I expect more for the $105-$110 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We purposefully chose a budget room at this motel - the cheapest studio room at $105. We were not disappointed with the service and value. The room was very spacious and well served with facilities. The hosts were at pains to explain it was the budget room but there was nothing lacking from our perspective. And we were delighted with the helpfulness of the hosts too. They stored our bikes in one of their meeting rooms. And they pointed out lots of places of interest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Middle Park Motel
Middle Park Motel
#11 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lugano Motor Lodge
Lugano Motor Lodge
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Motor Lodge

Property: Admirals Motor Lodge
Address: 161 Middle Renwick Road, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Admirals Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Motor Lodge Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing