We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, average service”

The Cornerstone Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 115 Restaurants in Blenheim
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food, average service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Always a shame for the chef when the front of house staff don't seem enthused about being at work - we didn't have high expectations of the food given the lack lustre service we received, and the fact that there were only a handful of people in the restaurant on a Saturday night. However we were pleasantly surprised with the tasty food - I had the Venison which was lovely and my partner had the Tuna, which although over cooked was tasty and full of flavour. Would we go back? Possibly not - the atmosphere lacked a little and overall the service was just non existent. To be fair we were comparing it to the superb service we had in Nelson two nights earlier so possibly a little harsh?!?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simbojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    84
    34
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“outstanding dinner”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had breads and dips starter - great for two to share.
Excellent main courses, busy evening but wait was perfectly acceptable. Great portion size - more than it might look. Lots of drinks options. Cheese and fruit dessert -s def for 2 not one as menu says! Also saw an ice cream shared which was similarly generous. Great location to watch world go by, clearly popular but we didnt book til about hour before. Overall very impressive

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A really nice place either to meet for drinks, lunch or dinner. Plenty of natural light in the main bar with a separate raised main dining area.Nice outside seating great for lunch to enjoy Blenheims weather. Food is very good and the staff are wonderful and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local lamb”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Best lamb croquettes I have ever had and teh accomodated my request for roast rather than mash potatoes.
Lacked a bit of atmosphere after the rugby crowd left but the staff were more than happy to provide guidance on local stores and options.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton NZ
1 review
“Mum's Outing”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice quiet atmosphere,tasty well presented food,Yum loved their Rissotto..friendly helpful staff.
We took our elderly Mum there in a wheelchair ,it was easy to seat her ,conveniences were available...All together a nice experience for us all ..Have been here before and will go back again !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chriswendy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornerstone Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to The Cornerstone Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing