We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, great service, passionate and knowledgeable owner and staff”

Marlborough's River Queen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sit back and relax in our cafe during the day or take a cuise along the picturesque Opawa Rivera Beginning in the heart of Blenheim, the River Queen and its charming crew takes guests on an unforgettable journey meandering through eastern Blenheim and into the surrounding countryside through vineyards and farmland. Guests will experience an enjoyable cruise along the river with hearty meals and drinks available. Each cruise can be individually catered to meet an array of budgets and tastes, ranging from finger food through to full three course meals. The Marlborough River Queen holds up to 99 guests and is available for private functions or for individual guests wanting a dining experience with a difference. Marlborough is famous for its wines and boutique beers and a selection of these together with other national and international beers, wines and spirits are available on board..
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Canterbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, great service, passionate and knowledgeable owner and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The River Queen, River boat cuise in Blenheim is a treat not to be missed. From the welcoming and knowledgeable staff to the owner who was passionate about the craft, the whole experience was a pleasure. The River Queen has been exquisitely restored, looks a picture and the information about the area, presented as we cruised, was comprehensive, informative and enjoyable. The platter luncheon was just lovely (local fare) and the wine able to purchased, showcased Marlborough wineries. We were picked up from our hotel, and delivered to the boat - everything was done effortlessly making for a very enjoyable experience - we will definitely do it again, if we get the chance!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canterburyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous way to spend an evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

I was asked to organise a hens night in Blenheim, and the River Queen was highly recommended by a friend. It was so simple to deal with Sandra and Peter, and they honestly could not do enough for us. We had an absolutely amazing trip; the weather was perfect for a cruise and it was great to see a bit of Marlborough I hadn't seen before. The boat is beautifully presented, and the wine was delicious!
If you are looking to organise a function in Blenheim, then I definitely recommend the River Queen.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“It was a nice relaxing trip down the river and kept us warm on a cold, rainy day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a great time. They came to pick us up at our hotel to take us back in time on a beautiful boat. Our host was very welcoming, we were fed delicious treats, and learned about the history of Blenheim. Since the boat is enclosed, we were warm despite the cold outside. What a wonderful break to our fast paced holiday, especially if you only have a short time to give. I would definately go again and take the longer lunch tour.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a serene boat trip,so glad I went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I so enjoyed the 4pm boat ride along with my 2 sisters and having Peter to fill us in on the history of the boat,river and the Wither Hills and the Moa ..Stunning scenery,calm+ cosy,tasty wines+ canapes!
You can sit inside where there is a fireplace,or on the top deck for some lovely views too.

it was a great way to end my visit to the area and I would Highly recommend this trip to anyone.I loved Blenheim.
thank you Peter,I will return....

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Grammie-1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience in Blenheim - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Cruising the Opawa River on the River Queen run and hosted by Peter and crew, is the best way to spend a few idyllic hours in Blenheim. Peter is the ultimate host, considerate, full of interesting tales of Blenheim, its history, both on the river and off. He makes everyone feel very welcome and special. The attention to detail during the trip is second to none. I would recommend this trip 100% to anyone visiting the area and it will be thoroughly enjoyed by young and old alike.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough's River Queen also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough's River Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing