We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18th 5* review”
Review of Off The Mapp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Off The Mapp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Yes there is nothing short of 5 stars on TA, and yes this is much deserved. Cob Quarters is a lovely place in a truly special riverside location. Jenny is wonderful and has a great eye for interior design, and Roland is so enthusiastic about conservation, and, if you ask, is a wealth of knowledge about native wildlife and terrain. Both went out of their way to make sure we had a lovely stay (as did Ben and Sarah, their unbelievably well behaved and charming kids). The watering hole is a highlight, as was the amazing outdoor bath, views from the hilltops (ask Roland for a lift up if it's hot). Fishing with their friend Mike in Marlborough Sounds was also an exceptional day out, up there with the best of our month and a half in NZ.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HenryL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Off The Mapp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 43 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Cobb Quarters & had a wonderful weekend. Every detail has been carefully thought through. We loved the baths on the rocky outcrop above the river rapids. The outdoor shower was devine & the location is stunning.

The cottage has been restored beautifully - much of it handcrafted by Roland.

We ate delicious dinners cooked by Jenny both nights of our stay. The absolute peace of the area makes it very special to sit outside.

We would thoroughly recommend Spray Point - in fact, have already organised our next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KiwiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently stayed in the Glazebrook Cottage (the newest addition at Spray Point Station). The Cottage is clean and tidy and so cute and romantic. This is the best place for a getaway and so relaxing. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Amazing views and walks. We will be back again. The owners are so lovely and have done such an amazing job. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtneyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spray Point is really something special. Set in a beautiful valley in Blenheim, Nelson, this quaint homely cottage has everything you need to wind down and relax away from the rest of the world. The owners are lovely and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! We especially liked the outdoor bath tubs over looking a meandering stream beneath the starry sky, this was something we'll never forget. The scenery is breathtaking, with great hiking and sightseeing in every direction. Thank you for a fantastic visit! We couldn't recommend Spray Point any more, what a very special place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDukeOfYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a special place. The views are spectacular in every direction. The Cob has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated, with lots of creative small details. The outdoor shower and bath by the Waihopai River are really well done and added to a memorable weekend. Hosts Roland and Jenny were fantastic. More than happy to show us around their high country sheep station, but with a sixth sense for judging when, and how much space to give us. This place is unlike any I have ever stayed at. A very authentic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil4itz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wow. A very special time awaits you at Spray Point. The owners are warm, welcoming & enlightened hosts who not only love their land but are delighted to share it. With grace and sensitivity they will gauge how much you do or don't want their connection & involvement during your stay & what your particular interests & desires are for the experience in general. The cottage itself is wonderful with lovely rustic detail and aesthetic with luxurious touches in a breathtaking setting. Memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed there 3 days on our honeymoon and we couldn't think of a better place to have it. The 2 tubs beside the river were just amazing and what a way to end each day we were there. Fantastic. There is also a fabulous outside shower that is so invigorating and what a view! the cottage doesn't have any clock, or radio/tv which is great so you can simply soak in the end of the road solitude and enjoy your time there. Roland and Jenny took us and showed us their Station and we loved the high country scenery as well as the lush, green native bush and mountain scenery. Great hosts and what a place to stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
29.7 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
27.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
31.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Ugbrooke Country Estate
Ugbrooke Country Estate
#5 of 23 in Blenheim
71 reviews
27.0 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
273 reviews
22.4 mi away
Straw Lodge
Straw Lodge
#1 of 42 in Blenheim
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off The Mapp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off The Mapp

Address: 4540 Waihopai Valley Road | Waihopai Valley, Blenheim 7276, New Zealand (Formerly Spray Point Station)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range: $169 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Off The Mapp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden conservation wilderness, a high country playground, an historic station, an exceptional retreat. Host Jenny Mapp invites you to step 'Off the Mapp' and follow in the footsteps of the old musterers from a bygone era on the banks of the River Spray in the Waihopai Valley in Marlborough, New Zealand. Enjoy the historic high country merino station, stay in our lovingly restored Cob Quarters, full of mementos from the past, explore the station from our Kiwi bush retreat, Boundary Creek or relax in the comfort of The Cottage. Hike on the tracks, swim in the crystal clear Spray and Waihopai rivers, explore our conservation wilderness, help with our predator control programme, go bird watching, hunting or fishing... you'll discover peace, privacy, adventure and rugged natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Off The Mapp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Mapp Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing