We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Bed & Breakfast : the best we have stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barossa Valley
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional Bed & Breakfast : the best we have stayed in!”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Beautifully situated in a rural country setting. Lovely ambience and so very gorgeous with all the creature comforts. Marilyn & Philip Cowe know exactly how to be the perfect host and hostess. I'm in the accommodation industry myself and it was an absolute treat to go somewhere and be spoilt. Breakfast provisions were delicious and generous. The bed was so comfortable and bedroom/cottage exquisitly decorated. My husband & I just couldnt believe our luck finding this little gem. We stayed in the cottage but they also have a hosted accommodation in their home and I think we may just have to fly over to NZ again to try it! Apparently Philip and Marilyn are renown for their breakfasts. We will definately be back and will stay longer than 3 days next time. Well done and again a big thank you to you both. Have already recommended this fabulous
B&B

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FletcherSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2010

What more could you ask for - gracous hosts, excellent food (breakfasts to die for), comprehensive and delicious wine tour - just needed to stay two weeks instead of two days. Philip prepared a delightful gourmet supper for us after our lengthy wine tour - driving was not a favorable option - we enjoyed the gourmet presentation with a bottle of wine and called the day and evening a spectacular experience. Marilyn prepared a detailed helpful map for us when we reluctantly had to depart. Stay here if you can !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

good advice on where to go &what to do, wonderful breakfasts when staying in the garden suite, warm & welcoming hosts

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokemidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This was the most expensive place that my husband and I stayed at. I think one night at that price was a nice luxury, and we enjoyed our time spent with the inn keepers. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. Philip took my husband and I on a private wine tour and afterwards we enjoyed a delicious anti-pasto platter. YUM! Great visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiemary04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the self-contained Adelaide's Barn for 3 nights during our Honeymoon.

Room: The barn is a nice little apartment with the rustic barn features beautifully preserved in the bedroom area and complemented by that room's decor. The kitchen/living room area is comfortable with a TV, mini-fridge, stove, and neccessities for cooking if you choose to do so. The bathroom was spacious with a shower, heated floors, and washing machine is a plus if you have been travelling for awhile and need to do any laundry (a drying rack is provided to dry your clothes).

Location: The property is located a little north of the town center of Blenheim. It is convenient if you want access both to the wineries and the Picton/Sounds area. The grounds are extensive, though as we were staying there during chilly and extremely windy weather we did not take advantage of them other than the views from the barn.

Hosts: Philip and Marilyn were extremely helpful and accomodating. We highly recommend taking advantage of dinner with the hosts as well as the wine tour to take advantage of Philip's culinary skills and wine knowledge as a chef. The tour with Philip was extremely helpful for us as we are just beginning to move beyond a very basic education in wine. He will sit down with you the morning of the tour and discuss with you what you are interested in and map out a route from there. He introduced us to some great wineries whose wines we are now seeking out back in the States. Marilyn is your go to if you need help planning any other activities and she will call around if you need it. She helped us our second full day there when we slept in a bit and wanted to go hike the Queen Charlotte Track. We also had fun with their dog Jess, who you can have as little of or as much of as you want. When we came back from the wine tour, she kept me company while my husband napped.

Food: As previously stated, dinner with the hosts should be taken advantage of. We signed up for our first night and Philip cooked our beef filets to order. It's also just a great way to hear some more about the area. In the barn, breakfast is croissants (baked by Philip) delivered each morning. They are enormous and probably the best croissants we have ever had. We were also provided with a loaf of bread (baked my Marilyn), and orange juice, milk, coffee, eggs, and fruit. On our last night, we dined at Gibb's Restaurant (highly recommended by Philip and Marilyn) and had what was probably the best meal of our entire 3-week honeymoon.

Overall: When it was time to move onto the next leg of our trip, this was one place that we didn't want to leave. We wished we could have spent a few more days there and hope to make a trip back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVTLNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We heard about this B&B from another couple that we met on the North Island. They said we had to stay here, so we altered our plans to include the Blenheim area. Our New Zealand trip was over 6 weeks in length and we stayed at 25 different B&B's on the North and South Islands. Hands down this was our very favorite!

Phillip and Marilyn are fantastic hosts with obvious experience in the tourism/lodging service business. Phillip is a wonderful chef and his special order antipasta platter is not to be missed-it is a dinner for two. Located in a great setting in the heart of the wine country.

Our only regret is that our schedule only allowed us to stay here one night. Next time we won't make the same mistake-we plan to stay here 3-4 nights! Do not miss this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitkinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Short drive fron Picton Ferry.Lovely setting and within minutes of local wineries.Casual dining of very high quality.Be sure to include wine tour with Philip and dinner with hosts,Marilyn and Philip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
623 reviews
6.0 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
84 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
5.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes to Marlborough wineries and 15 to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing