We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb setting, delightful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 43 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb setting, delightful hosts”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Staying in the barn was a joy! Self contained, but with all the benefits of a B&B. Scrumptious hot breads, homemade yoghurt and jams, free range eggs - I could go on and on. We fell in love with the two dogs - a labrador and a rhodesian ridgeback - who were friendly and huggable! The house and barn are within 5 mins driving distance of the vineyards, and at our hosts' suggestion we visited Yealands (a drive away, but boy, was it worth it. I love vineyards and this was the best I have EVER been to). Also lunch at Hans Herzog is an absolute must. Michellin starred food at a pretty basic cost in delightful surroundings. This is a top-rate B&B. Well done Steve and Nanette, and the best of luck for the future.

Room Tip: Choose the barn for the best of both worlds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! Adelaide's Barn is really charming and restful and it gives us real pleasure to see our guests relax and enjoy this magical place as much as we do. Marlborough is a stunning region and staying for 4 nights gave you time to really explore the region and yes, Yealands really does have the 'wow' factor - not many vineyards with snow capped mountains on one side and the Pacific ocean on the other! We would love to see you both again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Garden Suite it was relaxing peaceful and very comfortable. Hosts Steve, Nanette and Natalie were great. The arranged platter was absolutely awesome and we could not finish it. The suite is situated in a historic home built around 1870 and is surrounded by beautiful gardens filled with roses. The beautiful very filling breakfast eaten on the verandah outside the room in amongst the rose garden is highly recommended. Very pleasurable experience and will certainly recommend to all and look forward to returning and trying out the romantic self contained Adelaide Barn accommodation on the property.

Room Tip: If you want a more romantic getaway recommend Adelaide Barn Accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments - it was a real pleasure having you to stay. Do come back and try Adelaide's Barn - it is such a lovely romantic retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the area, and were pleasantly surprised by how picture perfect everything was. We stayed in the barn which was spacious and well decorated. Our hosts were lovely and made an excellent recommendation for a wine tour (na Clackan) which turned out to be great, and a restaurant ( d'urville) we enjoyed.
Extra touches such as fresh home made bread and pastry were lovely and we felt very welcome and right at home, but with our privacy well respected. Would definitely stay here again, beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Location is a short drive out of town, 5-10 minutes so make sure you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay - love to see you again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have stayed in more luxurious rooms, but this one was very nice, extremely comfortable, AND, in a lovely house, in a lovely garden, in a lovely area. Roses and wine everywhere! You can go winetasting as you could in Napa 25 years ago. The proprietors were warm and helpful without being pushy. Altogether a wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaseycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It was lovely to meet you and glad you enjoyed your stay - do come again and stay longer if you can...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was our first stay at Marlborough B & B and we would definitely return and highly recommend it. Nanette and Steve were wonderful hosts and paid great attention to detail. Flynn and Paddy the dogs were a lovely bonus! Breakfast was fantastic and the setting/gardens spectacular. Lovely old historic home with loads of character. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. An absolute pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the lovely feedback - it was great having you to stay and to hear that you loved our special home as much as we do. The dogs thought you were the best - come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Nanette and Steve could not have made our stay any better from great breakfasts to dinner with their family to wine country tips and recommendations for Auckland, their former home. The property is beautiful and well maintained. I would highly recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Marlborough wine country.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay - we really enjoyed your company and would love to see you again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the Marlborough B & B and I can say that it was a great stay. Our hosts Steve and Nanette really made us feel welcome as did their 2 dogs Flynn the Rhodesian Ridgeback and Paddy the Labrador puppy. The property is situated on about 7 acres of land with beautiful gardens, a creek and gracious old trees some of which are probably over 100 years old. They two suites here, the garden suite in which we stayed and Adelaide's barn. We stayed in the Garden suite which included a cooked breakfast (and what a breakfast it was) whereas the barn offers self cooking facilities and supplies provided by Steve and Nanette. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom well fitted out (the water pressure here is something to behold). As far as position goes it is just fantastic, only 7 kms into Blenheim and the wonderful Marlborough wineries and about 20kms to Picton and ferries to the Queen Charlotte Sounds. We just loved staying and can highly recommend this as a place to stay in the Marlborough region

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlboroughBB, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It was a real pleasure having you to stay - and coming for 5 nights it was so nice to see you relax and explore all this beautiful region has to offer. We would love to welcome you again any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
6.0 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
83 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
5.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes to Marlborough wineries and 15 to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing