We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the Marlborough region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 44 Blenheim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nanette and Steve could not have made our stay any better from great breakfasts to dinner with their family to wine country tips and recommendations for Auckland, their former home. The property is beautiful and well maintained. I would highly recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Marlborough wine country.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank worldtraveledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanette K, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay - we really enjoyed your company and would love to see you again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the Marlborough B & B and I can say that it was a great stay. Our hosts Steve and Nanette really made us feel welcome as did their 2 dogs Flynn the Rhodesian Ridgeback and Paddy the Labrador puppy. The property is situated on about 7 acres of land with beautiful gardens, a creek and gracious old trees some of which are probably over 100 years old. They two suites here, the garden suite in which we stayed and Adelaide's barn. We stayed in the Garden suite which included a cooked breakfast (and what a breakfast it was) whereas the barn offers self cooking facilities and supplies provided by Steve and Nanette. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom well fitted out (the water pressure here is something to behold). As far as position goes it is just fantastic, only 7 kms into Blenheim and the wonderful Marlborough wineries and about 20kms to Picton and ferries to the Queen Charlotte Sounds. We just loved staying and can highly recommend this as a place to stay in the Marlborough region

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlboroughBB, Owner at Marlborough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

It was a real pleasure having you to stay - and coming for 5 nights it was so nice to see you relax and explore all this beautiful region has to offer. We would love to welcome you again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed with Nanette and Steve for 2 nights. We were 2 couples, so used up both of their rooms! What a beautiful location...... lovely gardens around the property with fruit trees and a great mountain view. The cottage was a nice spot to have cocktails before dinner, and having the small kitchen was great. Nanette and Steve were welcoming and warm, and were very helpful in suggesting restaurants and wineries to visit. The bed was very comfortable and theh bath was spacious. The breakfasts here are incredible - especially the home-made bread and the grilled nectarines (from their own trees)! This is a real oasis!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BGMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really loved Marlborough Bed & Breakfast. We´ve stayed in Adelaide´s Barn and in the Garden Suite. Both were perfect. Nanette and Steve Kirk are wonderful hosts and were more than helpful and kind. If you ever have the chance to experience there beautiful location and warm hospitality, make sure you don´t miss it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRas5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in Adelaides Barn for 4 nights self catering but with breakfast goodies thrown in. Nanette and Steve had recently taken over this delightful B&B and barn from the previous owners and have maintained the high levels of comfort and quality. Not cheap but every attention to detail was made. The highlight for us was Flynn, the Rhodesian Ridgeback. At just 8 months old he was like a coiled spring , full of playfulness and exuberance. We enjoyed having him around the barn and taking him for frantic runs in the paddock. We opted for a platter of food on our first night after a long drive and ferry crossing. What a delight and loads of delicious cold meats, fish, prawns and bread etc. The only drawback was a somewhat erratic shower which would not maintain pressure or a constant temperature. Being new to the property, Nanette and Steve were unaware and promised to sort it out. Otherwise a very restful and comfortable stay.
Chris and Liz A - West Sussex UK

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Everything here was so charming! The setting, the rooms, the people and the breakfasts.
It was a delight to stay here in the lovely gardens. Our rooms had flowers from the garden and comfort everywhere.It is the perfect place to stay when arriving off the ferry or waiting to go back to North Island and could not be better situated for visiting all the fabulous wine farms and seaside.
Everything was clean and comfy, beautiful and bountiful.THE place to stay for wine tasting and relaxing.

Room Tip: We would have been happy with any......ours had a little sitting room opening onto gardens and chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hadawayandfiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

When away from home either on holiday or otherwise I find a place to lay one's head extremely important.
I have just spent some time in New Zealand and was fortunate enough to stay at this lovely establishment which is located in a superb area yet conveniently located within easy reach of airports and ferry. It has recently changed ownership and is now in the hands of a delightful couple, Nanette and Steve Kirk who have achieved the wonderful balance of being efficient, incredibly kind and helpful but without being intrusive. I'm a fussy old fellow and found my stay most agreeable as was the knock on my door by their charming young daughter armed
with a generous slice of her own home made lemon cake, (their own lemons at that). My accommodation was spacious with views of the wonderful garden and breakfasts made me reluctant to leave.
Suffice to say I altered my travel plans so that I could have a further stay on my return journey en route home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
5.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
375 reviews
7.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.9 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
5.4 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#2 of 44 in Blenheim
175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 44 in Blenheim
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Kaituna-Tuamarina Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Blenheim
Price Range: $232 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1877 historic home set in 7 acres with tranquil park-like gardens and meandering stream. Quiet luxury, either in-house B & B or self-contained accommodation. Just 5 minutes drive to Marlborough wineries and 15 minutes to Picton and the Marlborough Sounds.Choose either the Garden Suite with private entrance off the wisteria-clad veranda, delightful ensuite bedroom & sunroom; or charming self-contained Adelaide’s Barn with romantic ensuite bedroom, lounge, kitchen and sunny, private courtyard for indoor/outdoor living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marlborough Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Bed & Breakfast Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing