We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner looking over the river” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raupo Cafe

Raupo Cafe
Ranked #12 of 116 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice dinner looking over the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant dinner sitting at a window seat looking over the river as people went running, cycling and walking along the riverside path on a sunny evening. Service was friendly and prompt - a little too quick for our meal orders as we were still working through the menu! - but the wait staff offered to come back after taking the kids' orders. They had a nice chicken fettuccine, and fish & chips, with a side of very tasty fries & ketchup. Both got the kids seal of approval so they were happy. We both had the trio of salmon to start with (a good choice), and then the hoisin chicken & couscous (tasty) and the pork belly (very nicely done). All the meals were a good size and well priced, definitely at the upper half of the price range but we thought well worth it. A reasonable selection of wines and beers on the wine list, not a big range but with local wines and beers represented. Overall an enjoyable meal and we had a nice walk by the river too, rather than trying to squeeze in desserts.

Helpful?
Thank David0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    294
    109
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well priced menu and the food was delicious! It was the perfect amount as well and it was nice to sit along the river

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mussels by the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

A good, central spot to have lunch in the middle of Blenheim. Large , well architectured by the river, with a non-pretentious but eclectic and cosmopolitan cuisine. Since the demnise of Love Aflair, a few months ago, perhaps Raupo has become my choice for lunch when I pass through town. I tried their attempt at a Thai dish and Marlborough mussels and they were both OK, maybe the serving are a bit small, but this is also reflected in the price. The service is good and the waiters can pay special attention to families with kids. If you get there on a sunny day, it pays to sit outside. The only thing I don't particularly like is the style, or the absence of. Modern but with not much personality. Look down in your plate and you won't notice this!

Helpful?
Thank aplescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

There was a good selection of food from the lunch menu & the our selections we made were very tasty and very well priced.
Service was pretty good considering the large number of people who dining at the time.
Would recommend this restaraunt without hesitation & I will definetly go back when next in Blenhiem.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingleMaltMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was delicious! We enjoyed the atmosphere in this busy restaurant and they went to extra effort with the special occasion we were celebrating. The service did feel a bit "rushed" though with overly attentive wait staff. Otherwise great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Family A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raupo Cafe also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Raupo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing