We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hidden gem in our Honeymoon vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ugbrooke Country Estate
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hidden gem in our Honeymoon vacation”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

If you are looking for a truly unique place to stay in New Zealand - then you must stay at Ugbrooke. A beautiful, old, massive home set in the vineyards of the Awatere Valley, this place has everything. It has its own farm, amazing pool, and incredible meals. The breakfasts and dinners were the best we had in all of New Zealand. Truly memorable. Of course we can't forget the friends we made in Monty, Jasper, Holly, Tabby Puss and Chloe - the various pets and animals there. But what sets Ugbrooke apart from almost any place we have ever stayed around the world, is the wonderful people. Alex and Peter not only were great hosts, but they truly seemed to care about us and treated us like we were family - from offering us ideas and plans for the day to preparing us a special (and delicious) "honeymooners surprise" dessert! They were some of the most memorable days for us in New Zealand, all thanks to Peter and Alex at Ugbrooke! We can't thank them enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLaura13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2011

alex & peter have done quite a nice job in restoring this beautiful estate - there is still work to do, but it is one heck of a place.

my expectations were exceeded as searching from the states, i figured i just found another bed and breakfast - this isn't just that. we also enjoyed a bbq out on the patio with them and the other guests of the house - i think i had 4 servings of the cous cous :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlkjjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Ugbrooke is an enormous old single storey house whose original owners accommodated 13 children plus servants. It is beautifully situated on a terrace of the Awatere River with expansive views over grapevines and low hills to the sea and beyond. Originally the homestead for a large farm it is now surrounded by a few acres in its country setting. The house is decorated and furnished in the style of its period. The owner operators Alex and Peter are friendly and cater for every need of their guests. We dined in each of the four nights and the standard of the food was that of a good restaurant. Although we had the only four successive days of rain that has ever occurred in Marlborough we had no difficulty occupying ourselves with trips to Hanmer via Molesworth Station (only available for private vehicles in January and February each year) and to some of the many vineyards in the area - Yealands is special. Blenheim is only a short drive away over good roads and cinema, markets and museums are of interest. Overall a very relaxing stress free four days.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Ugbrooke is a truly unique home offering a gourmet and an historic country house experience.We were fortunate to discover it when planning a trip with 3 other couples,all good friends looking for a special holiday.The ambience of Ugbrooke is only matched by its beautiful location in the Awatere Valley-close to wineries,golf courses and gardens.Alex and Peter were great hosts-nothing was too much trouble;from assistance with wines over pre-dinner darts to delicious meals and a 'Murder Mystery' game in the dining room.It was all good fun and we would like to return to see the area in another season as well.The rooms were large and well serviced and walking around the immediate area made a refreshing picturesque start to the day. Kerry (Melb)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry622010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Ugbrooke is a special place. From the moment we arrived Alex and Peter could not do enough for us. We stayed with another three couples, all friends from Melbourne and enjoyed the breathtaking countryside surrounding Ugbrooke. Stef, the chef served fresh, delicious and inventive meals creating a superb 6 course fish extravagance the last night of our stay. We would highly recommend this special place to groups of family or friends, maybe for a celebration or as a special treat. Our thanks again to Alex and Peter who made our stay so special. Gayle

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255100Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Ugbrooke was exactly what I needed. After sightseeing in the South Island at record speed, I decided to spend my last few days unwinding in a relaxing environment--and boy, does time move slowly at Ugbrooke! My days were spent on the back patio overlooking the beautiful Awatere Valley, sipping local wines, relaxing by the pool, going for long walks down winding vineyard roads, walking along the ocean, eating AMAZING local food, and petting an assortment of the Lodge's dogs and cats (the owners will put them away if you prefer).

As stated in other reviews, the hosts are gracious, friendly, very welcoming and easy to talk to. As someone traveling by herself, it was nice to have their company (and that of their wonderful dogs!) Peter played me in Table Tennis and Lawn Bowls--he was willing to teach me how to swing a golf club as well but that sounded too close to exercise for me! Peter's wife, Alex, was LOVELY--and a very easy conversationalist. My best memory of Ugbrooke was sharing a bottle of wine on the porch with my hosts while watching the sun set. Heaven!

From what Peter and Alex told me, they are not always as involved with their guests. They try to read the guests' wants and needs, and they will leave them alone if it looks like their guest wants privacy, so don't think this isn't the place for a private, romantic escape. I was traveling solo, so I greatly appreciated the company.

I hated leaving Ugbrooke. Hopefully someday I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveling_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

After hiking for 4 long days, we arrived with a warm welcome from Alex and Peter at Ugbrooke...and what a fabulous old home. We were treated more like good friends, than just a bunch of tourists with genuine hospitality and great service. The rooms were superb with the Clifford Room being an absolute treat for people normally limited to contemporary minimalism. The food at Ugbrooke was amazing with Stef the chef serving up delicious local fare that made us delighted with our decision to eat in, rather than driving into Blenheim...allowing us to enjoy a few local wines and only having to walk down the hall to our bedrooms. Staying in also provided us with the opportunity to really absorb the ambience of Ugbrooke Estate, which is a wonderful homestead and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks Alex and Peter for making our stay such an enjoyable experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepwandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
16.3 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
10.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#6 of 32 in Blenheim
617 reviews
12.5 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 23 in Blenheim
266 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Peppertree Luxury Accommodation
10.3 mi away
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
Botanica Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Blenheim
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugbrooke Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugbrooke Country Estate

Property: Ugbrooke Country Estate
Address: 152 Ugbrooke Road, Blenheim 7274, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ugbrooke Country Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ugbrooke is one of New Zealand's most historic homes offering boutique accommodation and situated in a private and elevated position with magnificent views across the vineyards of Marlborough's Awatere Valley.. just 25 minutes south of Blenheim. The emphasis is on relaxation and warm Kiwi hospitality from the hosts who also include friendly 3 dogs as part of the family! Continental breakfast is included and dinner is by arrangement. It is highly recommended that you visit the website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ugbrooke Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ugbrooke Country Estate Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing