We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in the Marlborough Region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon and were blown away by everything the place had to offer. As huge fans of Marlborough wines, we wanted to stay close to all our favourite vineyards to avoid unnecessary driving while enjoying the wine tastings. The hotel is right in the heart of wine country with the villas surrounded by rows upon rows of beautiful vines with views out to the neighbouring (sometimes snow-capped) mountains. It was picture perfect. The villa itself was spacious and modern with a super comfy king-sized bed, huge tv (with an enormous library of dvd's) and a great kitchenette to cook your own meals. But there is no need to - the restaurant onsite serves the most amazing meals and the staff are incredible which makes the dining experience one to remember. The villas also have a little courtyard with table and chairs to sit back amongst the vines at sunset with a lovely Marlborough Sav Blanc. You can tell that the owners/managers of the hotel are incredibly passionate about providing their guests with a wonderful stay and this filters through to all their staff who are so helpful and friendly. If you're in Blenheim for the wine, you'd be disappointed if staying in town when there is such a fantastic 5 star option in the middle of the picturesque vineyards. We look forward to coming back to stay at this amazing hotel in the hopefully not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trumbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Marlborough Vintners Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 422 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed here recently for 2 nights (May 30 - June 1 in a suite with a King Bed at a rate of NZD 150/night. This rate also included a full lavish breakfast. We stayed at six hotels on our recent 13-day trip to NZ/Australia and Marlborough Vintners Hotel was our clear favorite! Here are the highlights:

1. The service was warm and friendly and every request (bike rental, pair of gloves to borrow while biking in the cold, 10 mins of internet access, extra toiletries, converter and a good lunch spot) was all met with helpfulness and efficiency. Dave, the General Manager, and his wife Sierra were kind and professional.

2. Our suite was a basically a small, well-furnished apartment and had patios on either side with incredible views of the mountains. Everything was well thought-out from a full kitchenette, CD player, lovely organic toiletries, to a much welcome electric blanket as it was late May (almost winter-time).

3. Marlborough Vintners Hotel's location could not have been more central. It was right in the midst of vineyards and at least 10 tasting rooms were located within a 10 minutes drive. The hotel also rented bikes for half and full days and as the valley roads were quite flat, it would be an excellent option in warmer weather. Lastly, we really enjoyed the quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

4. We were extremely impressed with the Marlborough Vintner Hotel's food. Our dinner one night consisted of a twice baked blue cheese soufflé and garlic bread with homemade tzatziki for appetizers. For our main course, I had chicken roulade stuffed with feta cheese/sundried tomatoes and my husband had their Morrocan spiced baked vegetables with couscous. For breakfast each morning, there was a full table of breakfast offerings including smoked salmon, sliced ham, a variety of cheese, 4 kinds of bread, homemade yogurt, fresh fruit salad, 6 kinds of fruit juice, muesli and cereal. We could also order from a hot cooked breakfast menu and the oatmeal (complete with a mini-pitcher of cream and a small bowl of brown sugar) that I ordered one morning was delicious.

If you've ever read any of my TripAdvisor reviews, you will see that I can be pretty picky about hotels, but the Marlborough Vintners Hotel was amazing on all counts. If I am ever lucky enough to go back to the Marlborough wine region, this is definitely where I want to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The suite was beautifully appointed and the beds very comfortable. The location is ideal - with wineries every direction and the Vines Centre over the rd (under the road really - make sure you find the tunnel!) It is very peaceful, and dinner in the restaurant is excellent - pricey, but nice food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yambagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed here for two nights to visit the wine country of Marlborough and found it great. The rooms are very spacious (with separate bedroom and living area, plus HUGE bathroom - surely they could have fit in a bathtub?), and very clean. Well appointed too with plunger coffee, DVD player, comfy couches etc. The location is right on Rapaura Rd where a lot of the wineries are, you could easily ride a bike to many of the cellar doors.

We had dinner one night in the restaurant but it was only average. Go to Herzog for dinner instead if your budget will stretch to it - only 15 minutes walk from the hotel and absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LetsDoLunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We picked this accommodation as the Vintners Retreat was booked during the Marlborough Wine Festival and I am glad we did. Although we did not see the inside of the rooms at the Vintners Retreat our rooms at the Vintners Hotel were very sturdy and roomy. The bathrooms were huge! They had a nice laundry facility, plenty of brochures in the reception area describing local activities and great views outside our window (we were in room 211). The breakfast was included with our room and was delicious. There was a good selection of breads, meats, cheeses and fruit juices along with various fruit and cereal. We stayed for dinner one night which was also very delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and think that to stay at this hotel was a great choice. On request we had room 213 set to the far corner of the complex which gave us privacy and amazing views out over the neighbouring vineyards.

The food in the restaurant was delicious for both dinner and breakfast and the staff were able to server breakfast to the room on request.

The room had all the comforts one would expect from a 4* hotel - perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sketchym8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We were fortunate enough to have stayed at MVH recently and booked the bike package which included free use of the bikes, a cheese plate, a bottle of their pinot noir, and breakfast in the morning. This turned out to be an amazing deal! The room itself was clean, modern and spacious. Our room directly overlooked the vineyards and we got an amazing sunset view. We took out the bikes in the late afternoon (after most wineries had closed unfortunately) but had a great chance to see the Blenheim area. Upon our return, the staff had delivered a really nice cheese plate with 4-5 types of cheese and a bottle of pinot noir, which was actually quite good.

While we had been biking, we checked out a couple local restaurants for dinner; Herzogs was a bit out of our budget and a couple others didn't really inspire us, and we ended up having dinner at MVH, which we are glad we did! The food was outstanding, from the salads to the lamb to the amazing desserts. We were one of the few tables dining later in the evening, but the atmosphere in the restaurant was cozy. And then it was just a short walk back to our room for the night.

The next morning we walked back to the restaurant for breakfast and thanks to a large group that had been in before us, we had hot items to choose from in addition to the cereals and yogurt. The large windows in the restaurant overlook cherry trees and part of the vineyard. Upon checking out, we realized we had been overcharged a glass of wine at dinner the night before, but the staff was quick to help resolve the issue and was very accommodating throughout our stay. As others have said, we only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.0 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing