We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location with good sized suites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location with good sized suites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice Location, good outlook over vines from room, set back off road, nice and quiet. Suites are very well laid out, good size areas, good wardrobe spaces. Bathroom awesome, heated floor and towel rail, large mirror, and good shower pressure. King Bed not too bad, but is starting to get a bit soft. Restaurant for evening meals is very good, reasonable selection and good to be able to mix and match small plate and main menu. Good wine selection really enjoyed Gibson Pinot Gris Rose, nice well rounded drop. Breakfast on other hand is average, certainly not executive continental. Limited options, only 2 cereals, no bananas in fresh fruit. Barista Coffee truly disgusting, they would do well to go across the road to Shelly's to get some lessons and use same beans as them. Not a clue about gluten free, no toaster bags for toast, or dedicated toasters. Salmon was bitsy and not well presented. With winter coming need a porridge option. Obvious they are not really trying to cater Breakfast, no chef, doesn't open till 8am a pity as apart from this it is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for end rooms 5 and 13 nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are currently working on our breakfast menu with our new chef. We do not have a Chef on in the mornings so we are working on more creative ideas for the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    97
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
267
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Location was set among vineyards in Marlborough. We had suite 12. Parking right outside the room. Room had small kitchen area (no stove but microwave and small fridge). Was perfect for us to make some breakfast in am. Also did cheese and nibbles one evening after large winery lunch.

Also had living room area, nice size bedroom and large bathroom with shower.

Had dinner at restaurant on property one night. Food was good, nice to walk back to room.

You can rent bikes and get to quite a few wineries. You can also walk across the street and pick up breakfast pastries, coffee, etc. also a fudge shop.

Nice private patio off of living area. If weather was just a little warmer we would have enjoyed it.

Good location, clean, easy to find. Free wireless that worked well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vintravel1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. it is great to hear you made the most of your stay in our piece of kiwi heaven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family of three spent 2 nights here at the beginning of a 10-day South Island trip. We usually prefer to stay in towns where we can walk to shops and restaurants, but upon arrival in Blenheim I was glad that we had chosen this beautiful, picturesque location. Although it was too rainy to bike, there are dozens of wineries within a 10-minute drive, and the Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre was an unexpected gem. As the Blenheim/Renwick area is small and easy to navigate, it was a good practice ground for the more demanding left-sided driving later in our trip.

As others have mentioned, this hotel has much to recommend it: The location is beautiful, and the units are modern, spacious, and tastefully appointed. However, I wasn't quite as enchanted with the restaurant as other reviewers. The two dinners we ate there were nicely prepared with fresh ingredients, but not particularly inventive or memorable. Although located in a hotel, the menu suffers from a lack of moderately-priced options -- like a nice burger, hearty soup, or meal-sized salad -- that guests look for when taking refuge after a day of adventuring. Moreover, though we're small people, we found the portions too small to be satisfying, which at NZ prices is a bit of a bummer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Yes the Omaka Aviation is a gem and I believe it has been super busy since the Royal tour.
Thank you for your ideas on the menu we have taken these into consideration with the new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay with friends on one of the gourmet packages. Staff very friendly, accommodation excellent and very comfortable and spacious. The gourmet evening meal was really superb but the gourmet breakfast let the hotel down. We have had better at basic business hotels.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 13,14,15 & 16 with great views over the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. we have just employed a new Chef and we are working on the breakfast menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just returned from another great weekend in Marlborough where we rode the Grape Ride. Stayed at the Marlborough Vintners Hotel again, its location to the event is perfect and the stay was just as good as last time. The rooms are spacious, there is a private patio we were able to sit and enjoy the great weather with views over the vineyards. The staff are friendly and Pamela at reception was most helpful. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend, hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are glad to hear you survived the Grape ride. The hotel is perfect for this event and the spa pool always gets used for those saddle sores!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

A great peaceful place to stay. The hotel itself is more a set of chalets set in a vineyard. Each chalet is very large with a lounge, dining area, king size bedroom and a massive bathroom. Each has a patio and great views of the vineyards and surrounding mountains. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had some great food. We were booked in for one night on our way down South but returned for a further two nights on our return. It has a laundry and gym. We had a great stay both times. Thanks.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hospatality so much that you returned. we love having returning guests as it makes the staff proud of what they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful apartments among the vines near Renwick, the hotel provides a superb location for a Marlborough wine experience. We hired bikes from the hotel to ride round for some tastings at a choice of many wineries within easy reach. We are not bike riders but the roads and terrain are user friendly. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoy our small piece of Kiwi paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#2 of 32 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.4 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing