We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but the restaurant may be a bit over-hyped.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place but the restaurant may be a bit over-hyped.”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family of three spent 2 nights here at the beginning of a 10-day South Island trip. We usually prefer to stay in towns where we can walk to shops and restaurants, but upon arrival in Blenheim I was glad that we had chosen this beautiful, picturesque location. Although it was too rainy to bike, there are dozens of wineries within a 10-minute drive, and the Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre was an unexpected gem. As the Blenheim/Renwick area is small and easy to navigate, it was a good practice ground for the more demanding left-sided driving later in our trip.

As others have mentioned, this hotel has much to recommend it: The location is beautiful, and the units are modern, spacious, and tastefully appointed. However, I wasn't quite as enchanted with the restaurant as other reviewers. The two dinners we ate there were nicely prepared with fresh ingredients, but not particularly inventive or memorable. Although located in a hotel, the menu suffers from a lack of moderately-priced options -- like a nice burger, hearty soup, or meal-sized salad -- that guests look for when taking refuge after a day of adventuring. Moreover, though we're small people, we found the portions too small to be satisfying, which at NZ prices is a bit of a bummer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Yes the Omaka Aviation is a gem and I believe it has been super busy since the Royal tour.
Thank you for your ideas on the menu we have taken these into consideration with the new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    104
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
292
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay with friends on one of the gourmet packages. Staff very friendly, accommodation excellent and very comfortable and spacious. The gourmet evening meal was really superb but the gourmet breakfast let the hotel down. We have had better at basic business hotels.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 13,14,15 & 16 with great views over the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. we have just employed a new Chef and we are working on the breakfast menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just returned from another great weekend in Marlborough where we rode the Grape Ride. Stayed at the Marlborough Vintners Hotel again, its location to the event is perfect and the stay was just as good as last time. The rooms are spacious, there is a private patio we were able to sit and enjoy the great weather with views over the vineyards. The staff are friendly and Pamela at reception was most helpful. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend, hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are glad to hear you survived the Grape ride. The hotel is perfect for this event and the spa pool always gets used for those saddle sores!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

A great peaceful place to stay. The hotel itself is more a set of chalets set in a vineyard. Each chalet is very large with a lounge, dining area, king size bedroom and a massive bathroom. Each has a patio and great views of the vineyards and surrounding mountains. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had some great food. We were booked in for one night on our way down South but returned for a further two nights on our return. It has a laundry and gym. We had a great stay both times. Thanks.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hospatality so much that you returned. we love having returning guests as it makes the staff proud of what they are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful apartments among the vines near Renwick, the hotel provides a superb location for a Marlborough wine experience. We hired bikes from the hotel to ride round for some tastings at a choice of many wineries within easy reach. We are not bike riders but the roads and terrain are user friendly. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoy our small piece of Kiwi paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for three days at the Marlborough Vintners Hotel in late March and it was magic from end to end. It is situated in the center of a dozen or so of Marlborough's finest wineries with a vista of vines and wonderful mountains in the distance. We had booked one of their packages with cycles to ride around the wineries, a picnic lunch, a massage and a degustation dinner at their restaurant, and it was all wonderful. The hotel is made up of separate chalets with bedroom, huge bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining. You also have an outside terrace with chairs to relax and look over the vineyards. It is very quiet and tranquil.

We were very impressed with the quality of the restaurant. In an area awash with marvelous winery restaurants it shone out. The menu was interesting, using locally sourced ingredients and a wonderful selection of Marlborough wines. The attention to detail was outstanding. We had had three other meals there before our degustation dinner and they had taken note of what we ordered each time so nothing was duplicated in this dinner. Each course was delicious with the Matire de Anita Gulliver explaining the wine choice she had made to accompany it, giving us service that was attentive but not intrusive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank your for your wondeful review. It is great to get reviews like this as it boosts the team morale. Anita has sadly left us but we now have Scott in her position who is doing a great job. You will need to come back and stay with us again to meet him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was a bit disappointed when we. Drove into the hotel as it has no presence but the units themselves are fantastic. They're thoughtfully designed to provide vineyard views but also privacy. The spaces are large and the decor is lovely although a little more colour would be welcome. Great bathroom and amenities. The lady not reception was delightfully welcoming and solicitous despite not having a record of our reservation. She gave us our room straightaway and said she'd sort it all out later which she did. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsymaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on the front of our property.
the first step was removing the old cheery trees. If you folow pour facebook page we are updating it with the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#12 of 32 in Blenheim
205 reviews
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
4.9 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
268 reviews
6.0 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Property: Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing