We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just fantastic. We were only here for a weekend, but wished we'd had more time.
The MVH is a brilliant getaway, we were there for a wedding anniversary, and it could not have been more perfect.

The rooms are huge, I'd recommend getting a vineyard facing suite, it's marginally more, but well worth it. The view is amazing. Suites are very modern, bathrooms are gigantic, and it feels like you're the only guests there.

We also had dinner in the restaurant, and this only enhanced the weekend. Great food, not cheap, but well worth it. The brownie dessert was divine!

This would be a great venue for a (smallish) wedding or event - the garden area is a delight. We had great weather, which helped of course, but it's often sunny in Blenheim - hence the great vineyards.

If we're ever back that way, we'll only be staying in one place - MVH.

Room Tip: Vineyard views!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCanuckNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

thank you so much for your lovely review.
Marlborough is a wonderful place to have a romantic getaway.
we do hold weddings in our gardens and in fact we have 12 booked for this year.
we look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Marlborough Vintners Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 422 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised with how large, light and lovely our suite was when I stayed this week at Marlborough Vintners Hotel. With so many big windows and two outdoor areas the suite was full of light and lovely views of the gardens, vineyard and mountains. The lounge, dining and bedroom areas really large and allow you to spread out and the bathroom you can do a cart wheel in it is so big!

The attention to detail was the other nice surprise - lovely toiletries, complimentary cookies and even a little pot of local jam as a special treat. The breakfast was also impressive as most continental buffets are predicable, theirs had in house smoked salmon and lovely pasteries and a very good coffee.

We will definitely be staying here again and staying longer - we didn't know about the hot tub and gym until we were on our way out so next time we will bring a bathing suit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always0naplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank You for your lovely review.
We love the fact that our body products are all made from local New Zealand ingrediants
including our body wash that is very appropriately made fro Marlborough Sauvignon grape oil.
The Gym and Spa pool are new to the complex and the Spa is the perfect place to star gaze.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wow, how gorgeous can you get?? Found by chance once I had decided not to stay in Kaikoura, Blenheim being closer to Picton and to the Amaka Vintage Plane Museum. i liked the look of the architecture and on arrival was not disappointed - it is gorgeous and the "suites" are superb. The only similarity between them and a motel unit is the fact that they are spread out amongst the garden bordering on the vines. They are modern, clean, spacious and superbly decorated - I could live in one quite happily! The bed is ultra comfortable and the bathroom is huge - and I mean huge! It is wet room with all the facilities. The restaurant is fantastic and we had an excellent meal served by a charming maitre de who knew her wines. Breakfast was a very pleasant change from bacon and eggs. All in all, can't wait to go back and may not leave!

Room Tip: I don't think it matters - we had a garden room and it was super although looking at the vines w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. The suites are very spacious and no matter wether it is a Gardenview or a Vineyard View the views are always changing depending on which season we are in.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that Anita was able to point you to the right Marlborough wine.
we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It has been almost a year since we were at MVH. We were first there in June 2012 and we were so impressed , we decided to book MVH for the celebration of our civil union We returned to stay in October for our civil union and our friends flew in to join us for this momentous occasion. The service given to us by Tracy and her team were outstanding as they placated to our needs and fancy to make our event so special. Jason's food was spectacular and we are looking forward to coming back to celebrate our first anniversary again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely Post. It is always a pleasure to have you both stay with us.
May you keep having many more first Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Yes, just one bad thing can ruin a stay, so let me get to all the positives before that.

Check in was nice and friendly. The "rooms" are more like one bedroom apartments. Ours had a nice kitchen area, nice living space, a huge bathroom and a friendly bedroom. The view to the Vineyard must be awesome if everything is in season and it is right in front of your room.

The bad part was the bed. I do understand that you can not please everybody but our bed was so soft that neither one of us could sleep. Since we wanted to relax on vacation, we love to sleep in, which is absolutely impossible. The bed is so soft that your back starts hurting after 10 Minutes. We spend most of our times outside of the rooms when we travel so having a bed that is below average is just ruining the whole stay.

We had to cut our stay short due to this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVHGeneralManager, General Manager at Marlborough Vintners Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
I apologise that you didnt enjoy your stay with us as the beds were not to your liking as you felt they were too soft. This does come as a surprise as we have only ever had compliments. The majority of people comment on what a great night sleep they have had.
I will be looking into this further so thank you for bringing it to my attension.
The view form the suites is an ever changing depending on the season and at the moment the vines are all begining to bud.
Kind Regards
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the moment we entered our Apartment we felt at home. What a beautiful setting with views to Garden and Vines. I would have wished it would be another time of the year to see even more beauty with grapes on the vines. Instead we saw snow covered tips of mountains.
The apartment is very spacious. Lovely sitting area, nice bedroom and huge bathroom. It has great heating (heatpump) and a microwave and some dishes and cuttleries. The only thing I wondered was, why we had a microwave if no vessels were there to heat even a soup up. I had to ask for a bowl to heat my soup. It looks like the establishment does not encourage travellers to cook, since they have a restaurant on the premises. We did not use the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargitandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We wanted something unique for final day of our south island trip and we were not disappointed.
Agree with all other reviews of this property.
We did also have a meal in the restaurant which was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensational18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
636 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
18.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.0 mi away
171 on High Motel
171 on High Motel
#1 of 32 in Blenheim
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Vintners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Vintners Hotel

Address: 190 Rapaura Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#6 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $119 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlborough Vintners Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by vineyards, MVH is on Rapaura Road in the heart of Sauvignon Blanc country, MVH is Famous for its use of Local Marlborough produce, wether that be Food or WineOnly an hour drive from Nelson and 25 minutes from Picton.MVH offers luxury Marlborough accommodation and activities for your next holiday, wine experience, weekend escape, boutique vineyard wedding or executive retreat.The Vintners Room Restaurant offers modern cuisine with a seasonl menu created to show case the best of Marlborough Produce some sourced locally and some grown in our own gardenOptions range from a sharing platteror a two course meal to a wine matched degustation dinner. Marlborough Vintners Hotel 16 Executive Vineyard Suites are furnished with luxury in mind and the spacious 71m2 will ensure that you have ample space to relax in during your stay. Each suite is complete with all the amenities and facilities you would expect from a 5 star rated property such as King size beds, Towelling Robes, a spacious bathroom with handmade amenities from a local supplier, DVD player, TV, a great range of complimentary DVDs , private patio and a small kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities. Complimentary Wi-FI is also available in your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlborough Vintners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlborough Vintners
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Blenheim, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing