We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slooow service”
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
Ranked #77 of 114 Restaurants in Blenheim
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: French, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: La Veranda is part of the Georges Michel Estate complex, where visitors can choose a selection of wine tasting ‘flights’, matched with French degustation plates. For example, enjoy four of our Golden Mile wines featuring Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Rose, with a plate of imported French cheeses or a selection of French ‘charcuterie’.Nestled amongst the vines and bathed in Marlborough’s prolific sunshine, La Veranda is the perfect venue to rest and relax in a very special ambiance, either indoors or outdoors.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but slooow service”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were on our way from Abel Tasman to Kaikoura, and had read some good reviews in our guide, so we decided to stop there for a quick lunch with a glass of wine. Indeed, the food was fine and the atmosphere quite nice.
We arrived there around 1pm, on the day after Boxing Day. Maybe that's the reason why there was not enough staff (oddly enough, it seems there were 2 people in the room next door selling wine bottles that were basically doing nothing and that could probably have helped out in the restaurant) . The 2 ladies handling the service for the whole restaurant (including cashing in the checks) were running non-stop to wait the tables, but it was apparently not enough as it took a very long time to get the "plat du jour" (we were given a heads up, though, but did hope it would get better as already some people were leaving). But indeed, it took a very long time (didn't check my watch, but probably close to 40 m)... Food was simple but good, wine too, price reasonable (about 20 dollars / dish) but when we asked for some desert we were told that it would take another 40 mn (to get the single choice they offer, really?) so we had to give up and leave with a half full stomach (and a cup of coffee, but no espresso).
All in all, not a bad experience, but not up to our expectations. I would recommend you only go there if you're ready to spend a lot of time, and in that case try to arrive early so that you can sit outdoor and enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your posting regarding our service during your visit. We do apologise for the wait you had. Unfortunately you visited on what probably was the busiest day of the holiday period and we acknowledge that we were under-staffed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the afternoon”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose a nice sunny day to ride our bikes the 13km from Blenheim out to La Verandah for some lunch and a glass of vine.

Upon our arrival we were almost ignored for the first 15 minutes, the lady running the restaurant was busy with a big group wine tasting, unfortunately she was the only one there. She palmed us off with a splash (tasting size) of wine. After waiting 15 minutes for someone to come out to us I walked in and spoke directly with the chef to order a meal.

Another 15 minutes (which isn't bad for food prep - but quite long with no wine, water or service at all). As the meal was served, the other group left, the lady suddenly appeared, with wine lists, brought out our wine and was very attentive.

The food was fantastic; we chose two platters and were well and truely filled up with yummy local (and French based) delights.

Sitting on the outside deck area in the sun, looking out across the vineyards towards the hills in the sun was great.

Overall a nice lunch at a good price, but could easily have been a five star experience with a bit more effort (if you're going to be open for lunch and for wine tasting you should make sure you've good enough staff to do it).

I would recommend it

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieYonge, Guest Relations Manager at La Veranda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review posted 22 September. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you received. Unfortunately our chef/maitre 'd was unwell and away at that time and we were short staffed. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and the surroundings and our thanks for your recommedation. Please visit again some time so we can provide our usual five star service !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food reasonable priced, amazing views”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very relaxed, amazing french food, good service with amazing views of vineyards

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple food, stunning service”
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Food is simple and unpretentious. Keenly priced and excellent value. Rudy is a host par excellence. Better for light snacks rather than a hearty repast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diner2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“La Verandah is La Veranda”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Apparently there are two names for one restaurant.
La Verandah and La Veranda are the same restaurant on Georges Michel Wine Estate, located on 56 Vintage lane, RD3 Blenheim

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piririnha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Renwick, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing