We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly welcoming and comfortable”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything delightful and welcoming right from the start. Owners were helpful, friendly and welcoming with great local knowledge. rooms extremely comfortable, clean and spacious with lovely organic soaps, shampoo and conditioner. every detail covered: free wifi, tea and coffee, Sky TV, self-sufficient full kitchen etc.. Daily room cleans un-intrusive, polite, fast and thoughtful down to the last detail. We had an absolutely amazing time- Thank you Ian and Chris!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomatofringe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hello

Thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy meeting our guests and trying to make every stay a special one. We try to use local products where ever possible and have provided Jeymar hand & body wash, shampoo and conditioner (made in the Wairau Valley) for our guests for the past seven years. Our staff will be pleased to hear your positive comments.

Many thanks and we look forward to meeting you again one day.
Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 469 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great rooms. Great facilities. Fantastic hosts. Free wifi and movie library as well as Sky was great. Really great value as well, would happily have paid more. We had a really nice and relaxing time staying here. Thanks Ian and Chris!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andygtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

WOW... what can we say except thank you so VERY much!

It was our pleasure to host you. We enjoy meeting our guests and hopefully making them feel at home. We endeavour to keep our rooms up to the highest possible standard.

Thanks so very much and we look forward to meeting you again.

Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Spacious & spotlessly clean units with locally produced organic toiletries provided for use whilst staying.
Very friendly & welcoming owners with good local knowledge. Organised a wine tour with a local operator which was very good value for money.
There were good cooking facilites in the compact kitchen with a comprehensive range of cooking utensils and good quality pans.
Comfortable bed.
Some Sky channels as well as digital on the TV plus a DVD library to borrow from.
Free Wi-Fi.
Would highly reccommend this accommodation. Extremely good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hi

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such a fantastic review. Your positive comments make us feel proud to be the owners of 171 On High. Our staff and ourselves take pride in going the extra mile to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We try to provide the little extras that we all appreciate such as locally produced hand & body wash, shampoo and conditioner, FREE Wi-Fi and a selection of DVD's and most especially a warm welcome and a friendly smile!

Thank you so very much Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I were traveling through NZ for our Dream-Cross-Country-Road-Trip-Honeymoon-Extraordinaire and the plans had to be changed (which we had booked 1 year - 9 months ago!) when the "Diana Falls" blocked the roads & hindered our trip up the West Coast to see the Glaciers. We only had 2 days planned for Franz Glacier, and while sad to miss it, we were so happy to be able to visit the Marlborough region after all and luckier still to find space at the 171 on High Motel! Because it was last minute, we were not sure what to expect, but were so happy with our stay!

Ian welcomed us straight away and provided all sorts of information regarding restaurants and winery bookings that we could still do even though we were in town for a very short time (only passing through while en route to Abel Tasman National Park). He promptly made a reservation for "...the lovely Italian couple!..." at Rocco's for some fun Kiwi-Italian fusion dinner.

We relaxed that night in our suite's spa; our room was clean, cozy, and of course has everything we needed to make some quick breakfast and lunches for the next phase of our road trip.

We didn't really have the time to do a full guided-winery tour, so Ian suggested several of his favourite larger and smaller wineries of the area. We visited Wither Hills, award-winning Villa Maria, organically grown & family owned Te Whare Ra, Framinghams, & stopped for the renowned lunch-wine pairings of Wairau River. We are so thankful for Ian's help and our lovely stay. We weren't planning on having any time to stay in Blenheim and we are very happy that our journey led us through this beautiful part of the country and that we had a lovely roof over our heads and friendly staff @ 171 on High Motel!

Room Tip: Have Ian book a great winery tour for you! He knows the great ones and although we didn't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi you happy honeymooners! Thanks for the great TA review.
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us & we're only too happy to help make your stay in Marlborough a pleasurable one. It certainly sounds like it was "mission accomplished" in your instance, which is great.
We are really spoiled here with the standard of winery visits available to visitors - after 15 years of living in this region we have not once had what we'd call a bad experience. Hat's off to the many passionate people involved in the Marlborough wine industry.
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you have enjoyed the remainder of your visit to NZ and that you have arrived back home safely. We wish you both all the very best for your future together.
Best regards........Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way back through to Christchurch but it was a comfortable room with spacious bathroom. The service was impeccable and very clean and tidy. There was however a strange large electric blanket dial on one side of the bed under the sheets that was very uncomfortable but once we jiggled this around a little it was a cosy sleep. Shame about the party next door on the night we were there, ruined the peace and quiet a little for sleeping! Can't be blamed on the motel though - you can't pick your neighbours unfortunately!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi and thanks very much for your review & positive comments. We were sorry to also read that a couple of things were a problem for you.
Firstly, please accept my apologies for the fact that one of your bed's electric blankets was fitted up-side-down - this was completely my own fault as the "chief bed maker" about the place !!
Secondly, yes - our new neighbours, who had just moved in the week that you stayed, did get a little noisy during their "house warming" party with their friends & family. We did call the council's noise abatement service that night but as most of their noise was from people talking there was little they could do. At least their stereo wasn't thump-thumping! We've introduced ourselves to the neighbours and asked that in future they respect our guest's right to a peaceful stay. They have accepted this in all good grace & were most apologetic. As you say - you can't pick you neighbours!
Thanks again for staying with us & taking the time to review on TA.
Cheers........Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The owners were very attentive without being invasive. Everything was in exquisite order, clean, comfortable and pleasant. There is a small but serviceable kitchen for simple meals. The location is central to shopping and restaurants--ten minutes away. Our two nights there could have hardly been better. We will definitely return when next in Blenheim.

Room Tip: The sofa bed in room #1 was comfy, making space for five. Two on the sofa bed would work for youngs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks very much for your great review - your comments are greatly appreciated. Together with our small team we work hard to ensure that our rooms are just the way we would like to see them should we be in our guests shoes.
Cheers anyway.......Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

On my Business trips to Blenheim I always stay at 171 and I have been a customer of theirs for 4-5 years. Ian and Chris are so welcoming and helpful. I can raid their DVD Movie collection for a quiet night in. Ian knows the region really well and gives tourists excellent advice on where to go and what to do.The units are maintained to a very high standard. I always get a good nights sleep every thing is supers clean.

Room Tip: Talk to Ian or Chris they have larger rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi Andrew & thanks heaps for your great review. My word - 4 to 5 years!!! Where has that gone.
It's always our pleasure to have you stay with us & please know that your support is very much appreciated. It's great to know that we have some hugely loyal supporters in the corporate area.
Cheers........Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
645 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $99 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing