We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“171 on High my home away from home.”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

On my Business trips to Blenheim I always stay at 171 and I have been a customer of theirs for 4-5 years. Ian and Chris are so welcoming and helpful. I can raid their DVD Movie collection for a quiet night in. Ian knows the region really well and gives tourists excellent advice on where to go and what to do.The units are maintained to a very high standard. I always get a good nights sleep every thing is supers clean.

Room Tip: Talk to Ian or Chris they have larger rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi Andrew & thanks heaps for your great review. My word - 4 to 5 years!!! Where has that gone.
It's always our pleasure to have you stay with us & please know that your support is very much appreciated. It's great to know that we have some hugely loyal supporters in the corporate area.
Cheers........Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 466 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in an upstairs two bedroom unit which had everything we needed. Modern, clean, oozing quality, it was a delight to stay here. Chris helped us upstairs with our heavy bags and in the morning arranged for us to wash down our rental car which had picked up some mud along the way. Genial , friendly hosts made us welcome and were thoughtful in identifying needs. We'd readily stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi Warren
Thank you for your fantastic review! It was our pleasure to meet you both & host you at 171 On HIgh.
Hopefully getting that rental car of yours cleaned up before you left saved you the cleaning fee! As mentioned, some of these car companies have no humour when their cars are returned dirty.
Hope you are still enjoying your travels & things are going well for you.
Thanks again...........Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived here on the 7th of January and were warmly welcomed by Chris and Ian. The room was clean and well looked after. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment which had everything we needed. The location was perfect only a 8 minute walk to the centre city. If I return to Blenheim I would defiantly be booking this motel again....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilli01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi & thanks for your great review. Travelling is usually a busy time for most so we really appreciate that you've taken the time to post your thoughts of 171.
We really enjoyed meeting you and we're glad that you enjoyed your time with us too.
Many thanks.......Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts Chris and Ian and they helped book our whale watching trip when we were having problems accessing the Internet.
The rooms are certainly spacious and the kitchen well equipped.
Washing facilities are good and it is very well placed close to town. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Hope you enjoyed the Whale Watch? We enjoyed having you stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to submit a review. We enjoyed your company and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at this motel for two nights in early January and had a fabulous time. Ian & Chris are great hosts, chatty, friendly & very welcoming. The units are appointed & furnished to a very high standard; towels, toiletries, tea/coffee and bedlinen all excellent. We particularly liked the free WiFi, a great touch.
Will definitely stay here again when we return to Blenheim & would thoroughly recommend it to any travellers in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the FREE WiFi, and the locally made Jeymar toiletries. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Blenheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Helpful friendly hosts, sensibly priced rooms, easy to find location.
Ours was a 'last-minute' booking, yet Ian couldn't have been more helpful.
The rooms are very well appointed, with pretty much everything a guest may
need, plus they are very clean and nicely decorated.
I have no hesitation in recommending 171 on High, and would
definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hello We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us while you were in Blenheim. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I would recommend this motel to families, very clean room and friendly hosts. We stayed one night before travelling on. Comfortable beds and nice bathroom products! The make up remover wipes were very handy.They even had a few good dvds to keep our children entertained in the morning when they woke early.

Room Tip: unit 1 was very nice, quiet, ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

HI Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable. Hope you had a safe trip home. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
642 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $101 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing