We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at 171 on High Blenheim”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This motel is very well furnished with well appointed kitchen and bathroom facilities and a sense of home away from home. Family members and I stayed there recently and because of unforeseen family circumstances in Blenheim had to change our room requirements at last minute which was no problem to the friendly and helpful owners Ian & Chris. We have stayed there before and found it very central, quiet and comfortable and will definitely stay there again.
Dianne R

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank AnneMarieR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 474 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to stay. Third time there now and everytime it's perfect. What I like as a traveling Sales Manager is the needs of the customer are taken care of. The power points are available and in the right places,lighting over the table is great,table is a good size,great TV size, solid big rooms which have been well thought out. Both bathroom and kitchenette are excellent to use and well equiped. Plently of big towels!! Hosts Ian and Chris are the best, nothing like being greeted by your name when you pull in after a long day on the road. A great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you both for the fantastic review and for your repeat business! We look forward to seeing you next time. Travel safely - Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely place to stay. We had three rooms - accommodated us all well. Pillows a bit hard for my liking but that is a personal preference. Ian and Chris were very friendly and helpful. Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next time - Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have just stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette has everything you need to cook your own meals and is very modern. The bathroom is fabulous, plenty of towels and top quality soaps etc. The location is excellent, very close to town and the Taylor river walkway. The owners Ian and Chris are very helpful and welcoming. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

In my line of work I stay at many varied establishments. Its important to me that everything is modern, clean and well maintained. Another important factor is that the enviroment is a welcoming friendly one. Ian and Chris do just that making each stay easy, pleasent and enjoyable. I have also stayed with a group on my recomendation and had nothing but compliments on the motel. I would without reservation recommend that anyone 171 On High as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_margaritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for one night with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway from Chch. Really nice freshly painted rooms, great lay-out with kitchenette. Staff super friendly and helpful. Great location and excellent value. Would deffo stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabbygogo1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the positive comments on our freshly painted rooms. We look forward to seeing you again. Ian & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I just stayed 3night at this 171 On high motel. The owner Ian and Chris are a very friendly and warming couple. This time I had opened my first bank account and they verified my address and help me. I stayed at chilled weather ,but Im very satisfied with their services. surprised with many guest were their such in miserable season.When I come back to this region, I will stay there again. to Ian and Chris,Thanks so much.

Japanese traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kengo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#14 of 32 in Blenheim
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#16 of 32 in Blenheim
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $109 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing