We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Friendly Service”
Review of 171 on High Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
171 on High Motel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in 171 on High Street for one night on the way to Nelson. It's located in a walking distance to bars and cafes. Rooms are new and clean ( although could have a bit more character) and the service super friendly. NZD 195 for 2-bedroom suite was reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 490 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a pleasant stay and was very tidy and clean. I would be happy to stay there again. easy to fined and very quiet. Freindly and helpful people operating the Motel. All very close to the centre of town and with restaurants and shops nearby. I am happy to recommend this Motel to any travelor passing through Blenheim.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a great stay and were made to feel very welcome by the owners. The accomodation is very clean, the facilities excellent and the location great for an easy walk into Blenheim. Lovely locally made toiletries were a really nice touch. If we're back in Blenheim again we wouldn't hesitate to stay at 171 on High again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent one night here on our way south. The motel is easy to find and our unit was very clean and comfortable, with all the facilities required. The owners are helpful in suggesting places to visit or eat - and there is quite a choice. We slept well and were not disturbed by any traffic noises. Will definitely stay here again if we are back this way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spotlessly clean and so close to restaurants and supermakets. Very friendly owner who was happy to help in any was. Has full laundry facilities and a small kitchen, so able to regroup and unpack for a few days. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent Motel. Ian was very helpful. Great location. Excellent facilities. Waking distance to down town and conference center. Will stay at 171 on High Motel next time in Blenheim. Rooms very clean. Enjoyed our stay. Thanks Ian

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at 171 On High. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback very much. We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Blenheim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here three nights and the motel was great. Chris and Ian go the extra mile for the guests. They supplied us with maps and suggestions for walks. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Chris even helped us with our laundry. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
171onhighmotel, Owner at 171 on High Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi Hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to NZ. It was great to meet you both. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to help with your washing :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blenheim
0.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
385 reviews
6 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Marlborough
Quality Hotel Marlborough
#17 of 32 in Blenheim
171 reviews
17.5 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 171 on High Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 171 on High Motel

Address: 171 High Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blenheim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Family Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Price Range: $121 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 171 on High Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MODERN,INVITING, CENTRAL - FREE Wi-Fi connected to Fibre. LCD TVs, DVD players and cooking facilities in every unit, some with some single spa baths. Sparkling clean, well equipped rooms, serviced daily. BBQ available for guest use. Located just 5 min/500 m to shops, restaurants and cafes. 700 m to ASB Theatre, Marlborough Conference Centre,Clubs of Marlborough. Qualmark Motel 4+ Stars. Ideally located for visits to the famous Marlborough wineries, Omaka Aviation Heritage Museum and The Marlborough Sounds. Warm & friendly southern hospitality. Your hosts Donna & Paul look forward to welcoming you to 171 On High Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 171 on High Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
171 On High Motel Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing