We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing Hot Pools”
Review of Maruia Hot Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maruia Hot Springs
Ranked #444 of 727 Hotels in South Island
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a lovely time relaxing in the hot pools with the beautiful scenery and birds all around us. we treated ourselves to a massage and they were well worth it.
The service was very friendly and efficient and we could not fault the meal in the restaurant.

I did feel that overall the grounds looked neglected and detracted a little from the lovely scenery. Our room was a little dated and we could hear quite clearly through the walls.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 315 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

The indulgence package is great value. It's not Huka Lodge but is 1/6th of the price and very clean - it doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. The staff couldn't be friendlier and communication no problem. Great food, excellent massage and the most scenic and tranquil location you could hope to find.

Room Tip: Mountain rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed here several times now and enjoyed every visit. Yes Maruia Springs really is in the middle of nowhere in a glacial valley resplendent with bush. The hot pools were the original attraction, they are great fun particularly in winter when its cold or snowy about, even good in the rain. But what was once an old fashioned NZ pub has been made into a Japanese Onsen. The inviting and friendly all Japanese staff are great.
The traditional Japanese bath-house (segregated into male and female as clothes are optional) could be straight from Japan. The waters full of the black algae, supposed to have healing powers. Pools are in 3 temperatures which vary with the volcanic flow, there is a great Utase-yu for neck and back work.
I particularly enjoy the Japanese themed restaurant, quality fare every time. They must have a great Japanese chef. Good selection of sake too.
The rooms are a bit basic and some of the older ones (garden view) are shabby, forget the gym, go for a walk in the bush instead, there are several long and short walks in the area.
This place can be just what the Dr ordered after a tramp or cycle across the picturesque Lewis pass.
This place isn't cheap but it is memorable! Go for the Indulgence deal and enjoy the massage (shiatsu, drapped).

Room Tip: Get the indulgence package and stay in the Japanese room, its worth it. Mountain view rooms are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked a indulgence package for $409 and it was worth it every dollar. I can not really understand why so many people finding it terrible but i guess it is hard to please everyone.
Anyway i really liked the japanese room as it came with a massage chair a really comfy bed and a kettle with tea and coffee.
The dinner was amazing the only problem was that the portions were far too big but great sushi...
the massage was a bit different what i have exspected but super relaxing. I guess that place is a bit worn out and it needs some touch up here and there but it doesn't interrupt the relaxing atmosphere. And the end of the day we had a great time and it was worth it to drive up all the way from Nelson.

Room Tip: japanese room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tritratra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to chill for a while. But everything is looking a little shabby and the price is too high. However this did not stop a second visit! The restaurant is mixed. Some of the courses were great others a bit mediocre. The massage was excellent. Overall if the prices were a little lower I would rate it more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilesoldroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I came away from here thinking 'that was great'. The staff in all areas were very friendly and polite. The settling is tranquil and absolutely beautiful, as is the Lewis Pass itself. The dining room and massage rooms had huge windows looking out at the lush bush and river.
The great things about Maruia Springs are: the friendly staff; the beautiful setting; the fabulous food in the restaurant - large servings and beautifully cooked; the relaxing shiatsu massages my husband & i had after a soak in the pools; the outdoor pools which are beautifully set up and must be outstanding in the winter with snow all around - i had been concerned about the reports of large amounts of black algae in the pools sticking to swimsuits etc but although there were strands in the water i didnt find it disconcerting nor did it stick to my swimsuit. The pools were beautifully warm - 39 & 40 degrees C.
The not so great things about Maruia Springs are: the tired state of the rooms and stairways - carpet worn and lifting off the stairs, old loose fittings in the shower, the v small bathroom which could have done with a surface for putting the toilet bag etc on. A larger person would struggle to find space to dry themselves beside the shower. The bed was comfortable and we didnt find much noise from the neighbouring room apart from the faint sound of snoring :).
The worst thing of course were the sandflies/midges which were prolific and enormous. Not much they can do about that though. We sprayed the windows and doors with the provided insect repellent and had no problems inside the rooms. The pool experience however was completely spoiled by the black cloud that descended as soon as flesh was exposed. We had put insect repellent on our upper bodies but that didnt stop them having a good go and the constant hand waving finally made us give up after about 5 minutes. The front desk had a notice saying that the sandflies were bad that day and to try the bathhouse as an alternative - unfortunately the bath houses are segregated and as my husband and I wanted to be able to chat it meant we couldnt use that alternative.
Overall, despite the drawbacks, we came away very relaxed and feeling that there really was so much potential for an outstanding resort if a good amount of money was spent to refurbish, and maybe a couple of beekeeper hats to put on in the pools to stop the black cloud!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We found this place by chance on our drive through the Lewis Pass. It was that time of day when a coffee and a cake is essential. We stopped and experienced great "flat white" coffee and delicious cakes served on a sun verandah in a quiet and tranquil setting. The proprietors and staff were very friendly and the service was first class. The only downside is that if they start marketing themselves the place will become overcrowded and spoilt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alsaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Island hotels
50.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#494 of 1,073 in South Island
24 reviews
326.3 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
352.5 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
352.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
130.7 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#17 of 86 in Marlborough Region
273 reviews
117.0 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#7 of 86 in Marlborough Region
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maruia Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruia Hot Springs

Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, 7895, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in South Island
#268 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Price Range: $125 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maruia Hot Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maruia Hot Springs is located on the Lewis Pass in a National Park where you can enjoy picturesque mountain views and look out to the flowing waters of the Maruia River while bathing in our 100% Natural mineral hot pools. Our pools are completely natural (no chemicals used), enjoy bathing in hot water sourced directly from our bore, our water has a high mineral content, which is considered to have healing properties especially for skin conditions and joint and muscle pain. We have 3 outdoor hot pools, and an indoor bath house that are open 7 days a week from 8am-9pm. We also have a private bathing pavilion available by booking, or in our package deals. Come and enjoy a serene and quiet bathing experience away from crowds and cell phones. Our Cafe is open 7 days a week so if you are driving past grab a coffee and enjoy a foot bath amongst the wildlife and beautiful views from our deck. Perfect for bird lovers! The restaurant open 7 days a week and offers a fresh new Kiwiana menu and a classic breakfast menu that includes poached eggs with homemade Hollandaise sauce. Visit our website to book and come and enjoy a unique experience in the tranquillity of the mountains. As new owners we are passionate about working towards making Maruia Hot Springs into a World Class resort and a pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maruia Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing