We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Brunner Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashley Hotel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
19
2
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
2
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a very lovely remote lodge (which we desired) and you need to be prepared to entertain yourselves. My husband enjoyed fishing during the day & in the evenings we played pool or cards and enjoyed visiting with our hosts. Our room rate included breakfast & always a wonderful surprise 3 course dinner. We also enjoyed 'afternoon tea' in the living room lounge. The rooms were attractive and our bed may have been the most comfortable I've ever slept in....including my one at home! We were treated like family, had the most helpful, accommodating hosts & thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

WE stayed here after fantastic trip throughout South Island. We had planned on having 2-3 nights of luxury before our departure from Christchurch. We would have left within 10mins of arrival if it weren't for the distance we had already travelled that day, and lack of accommodation elsewhere..it is very remote. However we love remoteness, but service was basically non existent. We had 2 rooms as we had our 10 y.o daughter who had to have her own room, as per the lodge requirements consequently adding to the price. I do not remember the exact room cost but we paid around $800 for our one night including breakfast and dinner. We have stayed in luxury accommodation world wide and never have we felt so ripped off!!!! On arrival we were told to carry our bags to our room as there was no staff around, and to move our car from the entry area around the back of the hotel, no valet service here. We had been driving for about 6 hours prior to arrival and asked if we could have something to eat. We were told dinner would be in 3 hours. We asked if perhaps we could have cheese and crackers in the lounge. Eyes were rolled...and some extremely ordinary cheese and crackers eventually arrived. We asked could we have a glass of wine...we had to buy a bottle of ordinary wine about 5 times bottle store price. Remember this is a fishing lodge in winter in rural NZ and it was cold. We asked if we cld light the fire...we were told no (fair enough), but we were told by the only staff member there that she had more important things to do...we were the only guests...and we had booked a month in advance...Things just got worse...finally before departure we were asked to take our sheets off our bed to help with the cleaning..by this stage we had to laugh ..if were paying $50 a night OK, but not $800. No we did not stay a second night, nor will we return, to the South Island yes, and have done so, but Brunner Lodge never.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank keayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We travelling NZ and booking accommodation as we go. My husband desperately wanted to fish and so we decided to find an out of the Lake and splurge on Lodge stay. We found The Lodge at Lake Brunner - and what a find! It is certainly out of the way and sits on it's own accross the lake from the very small town (if you can call it that) of Moana (65 permanent residents). The Lodge itself onlt has 9 rooms. We were the only residents on our first night (Monday). We stayed for two nights and absolutely loved it. It is very peaceful and quiet, although we undestand that during the summer months, especially over the Christmas period, the town of Moana comes alive with the owners of the holiday homes turning up in droves! If you like quiet and great fishing and are prepared to spend a little money this is a great place but going on local knowledge I would suggest staying away from high season.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2005

I think this place may have changed hands since we were here (Gary and Janice were the owners during our stay) but as there are no reviews posted I thought I'd try and provide some information for anyone thinking of staying here.

This place is in a MAGICAL location and although we only stayed one night we're really glad we made the effort to find it (it's a bit off the beaten track). We're not exactly active types and this place is probably more geared up for people that like walking, fishing, etc. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our time here and if you want to you can just relax and take in the spectacular scenery.

Although not luxurious, the place is nice and clean and has a homely feel. You need to be prepared for the fact that the bedrooms and bathrooms are rather chilly. Unless things have changed since we were there, the Lodge does not have mains electricity and is powered by bottled gas and a generator (from a waterfall at the back of the property). Obviously this limits the efectiveness of the heating, lighting, etc. so if I were you I'd make sure you pack some warm nightwear! As we were the only guests in residence I was able to use my hairdryer but if the Lodge is full I think the guests have to take it in turns to use electrical appliances. Somehow this just added to rather than detracted from our experience and was rather charming.

Janice was a wonderful cook and the food was truly EXCELLENT. In fact the food was as good, if not better than anything I've eaten in establishments with far higher star ratings. Gary provided us with some really good and useful information for the rest of our travels in New Zealand, including some invaluable advice regarding repelling mosquitoes.

Be preapred to make the slight detour to stay here and I'm sure you'll find it a rewarding and memorable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowers162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews