We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your crampons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington City Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Lancs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bring your crampons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

Stayed with Dean & Jeff halfway through our tour of NZ and loved it, they were excellent hosts, the room was immaculate and breakfast plentiful.
Their restaurant recommendations were spot on and we really enjoyed Wellington itself - highlights; Te Papa, Parliament and the Rainbow Warrior berthed in port which was a surprise.
Other reviewers have commented on the hill, but you have to see it with your own eyes, walking down the hill to eat was good but crawling back up with a full stomach and a couple of beers is interesting, it was easier hiking up the Franz Josef Glacier - only joking, good way to burn off a few calories!!!
Regret not spending longer but we were on a schedule, would definately do so next time - Many thanks.
Darren & Irina

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank autopia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
91
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

Dean and Jeff were fabulous! What a great service! They are definately willing to go the extra mile with pick ups and drop offs! Great environment - loved it!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2007. Peaceful residential area within short walking distance from great restaurants and downtown attractions. Jeff and Dean are friendly, helpful and accommodating hosts. The setup is very comfortable -- a private suite next to the living/dining area upstaris, with the owners' suite downstairs. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank HKG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

When we arrived David and I were greeted with a warmth that you usually only find at home. We were made to feel at home, our room was perfect. Clean, airy and so tastefully decorated. Our two hosts were like old friends "come join us, have a drink" and loads of lively conversation. This is one place everyone should try, you really really wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — It was eveything we expected and a little more
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallczechshortkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

Although we only had one night to stay in Wellington, we picked the right place B&B! Dean and Jeff's place is walking distance from all the theaters, lots of great restaurants and shopping! We unfortunately didn't get to meet Jeff because he was out of town, but Dean we a delight to stay with. He was more than willing to hang out and chat, and helped us out with a parking dilemma we encountered at the Ferry station! The bed was very comfortable and their home's decor was impecable! We definitely recommend staying for more than one night. Thanks again!

  • Liked — The proximity to the city center, hospitable and accommodating host, nice decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mezzoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

As a first time visitor travelling alone to New Zealand and to Wellington, the personal courtesies shown to me during my 3 night stay were much appreciated. Dean picked me up at the ferry terminal and Calvin greeted me at the door (Jeff was away).

Dean offered much information about what I should see and do while in Wellington and joined me for several outings as his schedule permitted. He was a fantastic host as was Calvin. Other folks have gone into great detail in their reviews about the excellent accommodations so I won’t repeat that here.

My time in Wellington was a special part of my New Zealand vacation due in large part to my stay at this B&B. I was sad to leave as Dean dropped me off at the train station for my trip to Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZFanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

My partner andI stayed at the GREAT Wellington B & B as guests of Jeff and Dean and Calvin (their wonderful cat). The location is ideal - walking distance to most sights and restaurants . Both Jeff and Dean took a personal interest in our visit and made our stay most memorable - only wish that we could have stayed there longer - but looking forward to returning! Lawrence and Alberto NYC NY

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tituaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edgewater Lodge
Edgewater Lodge
#3 of 54 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Richmond Guest House
Richmond Guest House
#20 of 54 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Joyce's Bed & Breakfast
Joyce's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 54 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Lawson Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern townhouse within 10 minutes walk of downtown Wellington. Queen room with ensuite bathroom and private courtyard. All day continental breakfast. Wireless Internet. Parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
City b&b
City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing