We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a real B&B. It is a home stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a real B&B. It is a home stay.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The place is in a condo development. Hard to find. Unmarked. Not welcoming entranceway, needed cleaning. The restroom is split into two rooms, with the toilet being outside the bedroom in the hall, and had ants and ant poison in it. Room was stocked with 1 roll of tp and no Kleenex. Had to ask for washcloths.
Breakfast was make your own, ingredients were OK. Second morning ants were included in the baked goods. Nice walking paths close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakkiSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffanddean, Owner at Wellington City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that our Bed and Breakfast did not meet your expectations. Most NZ BnBs are located in peoples homes. We try to make this clear on our website. The guest bedroom and bathroom with seperate toilet is located on the ground floor for the exclusive use of guests. The shared living space is on the second floor, and our bedroom on the top floor. This should be clear on our website.

I am very sorry about the ant problem, especially the infestation on the morning you left. It is unfortunate that we did not see you before you left. We have now hd the entire block re-treated and we are ant-free. I also apologise for the leaves etc in the entrance way - we will need to be more vigilant in our battle against the Wellington wind.

I hope the rest of your trip to NZ went well and am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards, Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
94
31
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Jeff and Dean were really friendly, even taking me out one evening to meet some of the locals! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a great time on our stay at City B&B- they even accommodated a 3rd person even though there's technically only one bedroom available. Jeff and Dean were extremely welcoming (even offering us glasses of wine, which they shared with us on their balcony). The place overall is well-kept and clean and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were very very impressed with Jeff and Dean. These guys go above and beyond whatever one might expect. They're friendly and exceptionally helpful. Jeff met us at the railway station and ran us back to the B&B, (which incidentally is also their home). He even cooked us dinner ! And we had a couple of glasses of wine and chatted. Very nice. The lower floor room with the bed and en suite was extremely clean and well appointed (I really liked the heated tiles and the carafe of port on the table !). On our last day there Dean very kindly ran us to the airport. We like these guys, we reccomend their accomodation highly. We also must mention Calvin. He's large, furry, and pretty cool.

We'll be back sometime and we WILL reccomend this B&B and the two very friendly, helpful owners to anyone !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Booked from the UK using TA. Arrangements made for us to get in, even if Jeff or Dean weren’t at home. It has everything you need for an overnight stop, which is what we did, before an early morning start to catch the Picton ferry. The ground floor room is nicely furnished, if a little compact, with equally compact WC and shower, but all well presented. City B&B is about a 20 minute walk (uphill on the way back!) from the city centre, where there are more bars and restaurants than you can count. There are also some more local to the B&B. Parking not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilaj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

After a multitude of planes, trains and automobiles throughout the South Island, we arrived at this lovely Bed and Breakfast in Wellington to have a restful relaxing stay. Both Jeff and Dean were initially out, but we were provided detailed information prior to our arrival. Our room was full of helpful information, including restaurant recommendations (which we used and were very happy to have done so). Met up with both owners later that night and were invited to a glass (perhaps glasses for me - blush) of wine and very fun conversation. The living and sleeping quarters were really nice and the price makes this an absolute bargain. Traveled as a couple and would return again. The next day, both gents took us to the train station - which, at 6:45 in the morning, is as nice and unexpected as it gets. Many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacetait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at City B&B for just one night about a year ago and I've been meaning to write this review for a long time, the house is gorgeous, located within walking distance from the city center. The hosts were really friendly and very helpful - they even drove us down to the ferry the morning after. This is just one of those places that really sticks out in your memory. Book!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgklotet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wellington City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Lawson Place | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington City Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A funky townhouse in downtown Wellington, built 2017. Self-contained studio with private entrance and courtyard. Or Queen room with ensuite bathroom in main house . All day continental breakfast (optional for studio). Wireless Internet. Parking. Please note, earlier reviews and photos relate to older property, now replaced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellington City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Wellington
City b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing